Navigation and service

"Mon Oncle. Klaus and Heinrich Mann" // Monacensia exhibition formerly on display in the Hildebrandhaus now in the German Exile Archive 1933–1945 // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // 17 August to 15 December 2018.

The exhibition "Mon Oncle. Klaus and Heinrich Mann" showcases the relationship between Heinrich Mann and his oldest nephew Klaus Mann.

It focuses on the life stories of two writers: Heinrich Mann (1871–1950), author of the novels "Professor Unrat" (Small Town Tyrant) and "Der Untertan" (Man of Straw), who during the years of the Weimar Republic became one of the most highly regarded artists in Germany; and Klaus Mann (1906–1949), who started his career as a literary enfant terrible in the 1920s. Both of them had to go into exile in the spring of 1933, after the Nazis rose to power. They were two of the most important representatives of the resistance movement, firstly in exile in Europe, and later in the USA. However, neither Klaus nor Heinrich Mann managed to return permanently to Europe during the years that followed 1945.

The exhibition documents the lives of Klaus and Heinrich Mann, who were always the anti-bourgeois, Bohemian element in the family. It also addresses the tense, complicated relationship both men had with Thomas Mann, their brother and father respectively. The family history of the Manns also reflects a pivotal chapter in the cultural and contemporary history of Germany.

The exhibition, which was first shown in the Monacensia library in the Hildebrandhaus, is now on display in the German Exile Archive 1933–1945.

Information and Contact

Opening hours

Monday to Friday, 9:00–21:30
Saturday, 10:00–17:30
Closed on Sundays, public holidays, and from 3–8 September 2018.

Prices

Free admission

Exhibition venue

German Exile Archive 1933–1945 at the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main
Temporary exhibition area

Further information

Exhibition opening: Thursday, 16 August 2018, 19:00
Guided tours of the exhibition led by the curator

Press release „Mon Oncle. Klaus and Heinrich Mann“

Contact


Besucherinformation

Last update: 17.07.2018

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Mon Oncle. Klaus und Heinrich Mann // Eine Ausstellung der Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus zu Gast im Deutschen Exilarchiv 1933–1945 // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // 17. August – 15. Dezember 2018

Die Ausstellung "Mon Oncle. Klaus und Heinrich Mann" präsentiert die Beziehung zwischen Heinrich Mann und seinem ältesten Neffen Klaus Mann. Gezeigt werden die Lebensgeschichten zweier Schriftsteller: Heinrich Mann (1871–1950), Autor der Romane "Professor Unrat" und "Der Untertan", der in den Jahren der Weimarer Republik zu einem der angesehensten Künstler in Deutschland wurde; und Klaus Mann (1906–1949), der seinen Weg als literarisches Enfant terrible in den Zwanzigerjahren begann. Im Frühjahr 1933, nach der Machtübergabe an die Nationalsozialisten, mussten beide ins Exil gehen. Dort gehörten sie zu den wichtigsten Repräsentanten der Hitler-Gegner, zunächst im europäischen Exil, später in den USA. Eine dauerhafte Rückkehr nach Europa in den Jahren nach 1945 gelang aber weder Klaus noch Heinrich Mann.

Dokumentiert werden die Lebenswege von Klaus und Heinrich Mann, die innerhalb der Familie stets für das Unbürgerliche, das Bohèmeleben standen. Die Ausstellung thematisiert auch die spannungsreiche, komplizierte Beziehung beider zu Thomas Mann, dem Bruder beziehungsweise dem Vater. Und sie spiegelt mit der Familiengeschichte der Manns zugleich ein zentrales Kapitel deutscher Kultur- und Zeitgeschichte.

Die Ausstellung, die zuerst in der Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus zu sehen war, ist nun zu Gast im Deutschen Exilarchiv 1933–1945.

(Bildnachweis: Foto Klaus Mann (Ausschnitt): The University of New Hampshire. Used with permission; Foto Heinrich Mann (Ausschnitt): Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach; Atelier Erna M. Kollstede, München)

Information und Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Freitag, 9–21.30 Uhr
Samstag, 10–17:30 Uhr
An Sonn- und Feiertagen und vom 3. bis 8. September 2018 geschlossen.

Kosten

Eintritt frei

Ausstellungsort

Deutsches Exilarchiv 1933–1945 der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main

Wechselausstellungsbereich

Weitere Informationen

Kuratorenführungen durch die Ausstellung

Pressemitteilung "Mon Oncle. Klaus und Heinrich Mann"

Kontakt


Besucherinformation

Letzte Änderung: 20.08.2018

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main