Navigation and service

Permanent exhibition of the German Exile Archive 1933-1945 // In progress

Certificate issued to 15 year-old Ernst Loewy upon entering Palestine in 1936

After the transfer of power to the National Socialists in 1933 about half a million people fled from the German-speaking area to escape disenfranchisement, exclusion and persecution. With its collection of exile publications, personal literary estates and holdings from various institutions, the German Exile Archive 1933-1945 of the German National Library is dedicated to safeguarding and preserving works and historical testimony from this time.

After holding numerous temporary exhibitions and setting up the globally accessible Arts in Exile virtual exhibition, the Archive has now redesigned the permanent exhibition area to provide a permanent base for exploring the topic of exile.

In various thematic chapters, the exhibition will focus on exile from 1933 to 1945 in all its diversity. At the same time it will call for an increased attention to detail and for history to be represented from multiple perspectives. This will allow visitors e.g. to take a biographical approach when exploring the exhibition. The paths into exile and the resulting experiences were highly diverse depending on the time of escape, the receiving country and the individual situation. Another aspect of the exhibition highlights the importance of the archive as a place where history is collected, organised and made accessible.

In the age of global refugee movements, the permanent exhibition of the German Exile Archive 1933-1945 is taking a broad view of the term exile and providing a basis for exploring current issues, too.

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Dauerausstellung des Deutschen Exilarchivs 1933-1945 // In Erarbeitung

Zertifikat für den 15-jährigen Ernst Loewy zur Einwanderung nach Palästina, 1936

Nach der Machtübertragung an die Nationalsozialisten 1933 flohen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum etwa eine halbe Million Menschen vor Entrechtung, Ausgrenzung und Verfolgung. Das Deutsche Exilarchiv 1933–1945 der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist mit seiner Sammlung von Exilpublikationen und persönlichen Nachlässen sowie Beständen institutioneller Provenienz ein Ort des Sicherns und Bewahrens von Werken und Zeugnissen dieser Zeit.

Nach zahlreichen Wechselausstellungen und der virtuell weltweit zugänglichen Ausstellung Künste im Exil entsteht nun mit einem neu gestalteten Dauerausstellungsbereich ein Ort, an dem das Thema permanent präsent sein wird und vermittelt werden kann.

Die Ausstellung wird sich in mehreren thematischen Kapiteln dem Exil 1933 bis 1945 in seiner ganzen Bandbreite widmen. Zugleich versteht sie sich als ein Plädoyer für den Blick auf Details und für Multiperspektivität in der Darstellung von Geschichte. So können die Besucherinnen und Besucher auch Wege mit biographischem Schwerpunkt durch die Ausstellung wählen. Je nach Fluchtzeitpunkt, Aufnahmeland und individueller Situation verliefen die Wege ins Exil und damit zusammenhängende Erfahrungen ganz unterschiedlich. Ein weiterer Aspekt der Ausstellung wird die Bedeutung des Archivs als Ort des Sammelns, Ordnens und Zugänglichmachens von Historie beleuchten.

Im Zeitalter globaler Fluchtbewegungen wird die Dauerausstellung des Deutschen Exilarchivs 1933–1945 mit einem erweiterten Exilbegriff arbeiten und Anknüpfungspunkte auch für gegenwärtige Fragen bieten.

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main