Navigation and service

Bildfabriken. Infografik 1920–1945. Fritz Kahn, Otto Neurath et al. // A temporary exhibition of the German Museum of Books and Writing of the German National Library in Leipzig // 8 September – 7 January 2018

Logo Bildfabriken

As early as 100 years ago an image-based "language" that used pictures for universal understanding was developed in typography, science and graphics. "Words separate, pictures unite," was the motto of the new visual imagery of Otto Neurath, one of the masterminds of popular infographics.

The exhibition highlights the rediscovery and profiling of the picture as a source of information and communication in the early 20th century. The main focus has been placed on the two visual concepts of Halle-based physician Fritz Kahn and Viennese science theorist Otto Neurath.. Besides publications from the rich collection of the German National Library, the exhibition features unique inventories from US and British archives. (Graphic: Kay Bachmann)

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, in cooperation with the University of Erfurt

Free admission
Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 – 18:00, Thursday 10:00 – 20:00, public holidays 10:00 – 18:00
Guided tour: Thursday, 12 October, 11:00
The exhibition will run until 7 January 2018.

"Brausepulver im Nachtgeschirr" - 100 Jahre Humor in deutschen Zeitschriften // Temporary exhibition at the German Museum of Books and Writing of the German National Library in Leipzig // 21 May to 30 September 2017

"Brausepulver im Nachtgeschirr" – 100 Jahre Humor in deutschen Zeitschriften // Ausstellungseröffnung // Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig

The 20th century has gone down in history as a century of wars and criminal regimes. But an era of laughter? Humour, satire and nonsense have certainly been universally available for more than 100 years. Magazines played a central role in making entertainment affordable for the masses as a "medium of the modern age".

Low-cost publications provided a witty commentary on current developments. In deceptively harmless ways they broached subjects such as class, gender, ethnicity, power, enmity and community. In doing so, they also expressed unpleasant truths, the equivalent of putting "baking powder in the chamber pot", to loosely translate the title of the exhibition.
Harmless humour or sharp satire, ribald frivolity or silly nonsense: humour in all its popular forms can speak volumes. (Image: Alwin Freund-Beliani)

The gallery exhibition has been developed in cooperation with the Institute of Communication and Media Studies of the University of Leipzig, and is on display from 21 May to 30 September 2017.

Free admission. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00–18:00, Thursday 10:00–20:00, public holidays 10:00–18:00.

Signs - Books - Networks: From Cuneiform to Binary Code // Permanent exhibition at the German Museum of Books and Writing (Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum) in Leipzig

Zeichen Bücher Netze - von der Keilschrift zum Binärcode

Tally sticks, anatomy textbooks, neon signs, disguised publications, gravestones, novels or love letters: for more than 5,000 years now people have been recording their knowledge about the world, their messages and impressions using written characters. Before writing was invented, people passed information from generation to generation by word of mouth, whereas writing, book printing and computers then allowed knowledge to be stored in a lasting form. The new permanent exhibition of the Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum, which was opened in a special ceremony on 13 March 2012, provides a brief history of human media based on the three media innovations.

Free admission. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 – 18:00, Thursday 10:00 - 20:00, public holidays 10:00 - 18:00.

to the video "Bücher-Zeichen-Netze"

Historical reproduction equipment and sound recordings from the holdings of the German Music Archive // Exhibition in the music foyer of the German National Library in Leipzig

Historical reproduction equipment and sound recordings from the holdings of the German Music Archive

The exhibition of historical sound recordings and reproduction equipment showcases a wide range of musical devices from the German Music Archive: a hot air gramophone dating from the turn of the 19th to the 20th century, an automatic reproducing piano, Art Deco loudspeakers, early radio equipment, and playback equipment for digital recordings. Different sound recording techniques are illustrated in the form of wax cylinders, shellac records, vinyl records and other analogue and digital storage media, also including technical cul-de-sacs such as the Tefifon and the TeD videodisc. Forms of music notation, famous record covers and typical examples of sound recording damage are also presented.
(Photo: PUNCTUM / Alexander Schmidt)

Free admission. Opening hours: Monday to Saturday 10:00 - 18:00. Closed: Sundays and national holidays.

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Bildfabriken. Infografik 1920–1945. Fritz Kahn, Otto Neurath et al. // Eine Wechselausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // 8. September 2017 bis 7. Januar 2018

Logo Bildfabriken

Bereits vor 100 Jahren wurde in Typografie, Wissenschaft und Grafik an einer bildbasierten "Sprache" gearbeitet, die sich die universelle Verständigung durch Bilder zunutze machte. "Worte trennen, Bilder vereinen", so das Motto der neuen Bildsprache von Otto Neurath, einem der Vordenker der populären Infografik.

Die Ausstellung thematisiert die Neuentdeckung und Profilierung des Bildes als Informations- und Kommunikationsquelle zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. Im Zentrum stehen die beiden Bildkonzepte des Hallenser Mediziners Fritz Kahn und des Wiener Wissenschaftstheoretikers Otto Neurath. Die Schau zeigt neben Publikationen aus dem reichen Fundus der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek auch unikale Bestände aus US-amerikanischen und britischen Archiven. (Grafik: Kay Bachmann)

Gefördert im Programm Fellowship Internationales Museum der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, in Kooperation mit der Universität Erfurt

Eintritt frei
Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10–20 Uhr, Feiertage 10–18 Uhr
Kuratorenführung: Donnerstag, 12. Oktober, 11 Uhr
Die Ausstellung ist bis zum 7. Januar 2018 zu sehen.

"Brausepulver im Nachtgeschirr" – 100 Jahre Humor in deutschen Zeitschriften // Eine Wechselausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // 21. Mai bis 30. September 2017

Scherenschnitt (Ausschnitt) von Alwin Freund-Beliani, 1920)

Das 20. Jahrhundert ist als das Jahrhundert der Kriege und verbrecherischen Regime in die Geschichte eingegangen. Eine Ära des Lachens? Zumindest sind Humor, Satire und Nonsens seit mehr als 100 Jahren überall und für jeden verfügbar. Die Zeitschrift spielte als "Medium der Moderne" dabei eine zentrale Rolle: Unterhaltung wurde für jeden erschwinglich.

Billige Blättchen witzelten über das, was die Gesellschaft bewegte. In scheinbar harmlosem Gewand verhandelten sie Themen wie Klasse, Geschlecht, Ethnie, Macht, Feindschaft und Gemeinschaft. Dabei sprachen sie auch unangenehme Wahrheiten aus, sie schütteten das "Brausepulver ins Nachtgeschirr". Ob harmloser Humor oder scharfe Satire, frivole Zoten oder alberner Nonsens: Auch die jeweils populäre Form des Komischen spricht Bände. (Bild: Alwin Freund-Beliani)

Die Kabinettausstellung entstand in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft der Universität Leipzig und ist vom 21. Mai bis 30. September 2017 zu sehen.

Eintritt frei. Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10–20 Uhr, Feiertage 10–18 Uhr.

Zeichen - Bücher – Netze: Von der Keilschrift zum Binärcode // Dauerausstellung im Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseum der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig

Zeichen Bücher Netze - von der Keilschrift zum Binärcode

Ob Kerbholz, Tattoo oder anatomisches Lehrbuch, ob Leuchtreklame oder Tarnschrift, Grabstein, Roman oder Liebesbrief: Seit mehr als 5.000 Jahren notiert der Mensch sein Wissen über die Welt, seine Mitteilungen und Phantasien mithilfe schriftlicher Zeichen. Während die Menschen vor der Erfindung der Schrift Informationen von Generation zu Generation mündlich weiter gegeben haben, ermöglichen Schrift, Buchdruck und Computer das Speichern von Wissen, das so die Zeiten überdauern kann. Entlang der drei Medieninnovationen erzählt die neue Dauerausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums, die am 13. März 2012 feierlich eröffnet wurde, eine kurze Mediengeschichte der Menschheit.

Eintritt frei. Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag 10 - 18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10 – 20 Uhr, Feiertage 10 - 18 Uhr.

zum Video Zeichen-Bücher-Netze

Historische Abspielgeräte und Tonträger aus dem Bestand des Deutschen Musikarchivs // Ausstellung im Musikfoyer der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig

Historische Abspielgeräte und Tonträger aus dem Bestand des Deutschen Musikarchivs

Die Ausstellung historischer Tonträger und Abspielgeräte zeigt Musikgeräte aller Genres aus dem Deutschen Musikarchiv: ein Heißluft-Grammophon aus der Zeit um die Wende vom 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert, ein automatisch spielendes Reproduktions-Klavier, Art-déco-Lautsprecher, frühe Radiogeräte und Abspielgeräte für digitale Tonträger. Die verschiedenen Techniken der Tonaufzeichnung sind mit Wachswalzen, Schellackplatten, Vinylplatten sowie weiteren analogen und digitalen Speichermedien bis hin zu den Sackgassen technischer Entwicklungen wie dem Tefifon und der TeD-Bildplatte illustriert. Auch Formen der Musiknotation, berühmte Plattencover und typische Schäden an Tonträgern werden präsentiert. (Foto: PUNCTUM / Alexander Schmidt)

Eintritt frei. Öffnungszeiten: Montag bis Samstag 10 - 18 Uhr. An Sonn- und Feiertagen geschlossen.

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main