Navigation and service

Universal. Reclams Jahrhundertidee – Leipzig 1867 bis 1990 // Temporary exhibition of the German Museum of Books and Writing // German National Library in Leipzig // 27 October 2017 to 3 June 2018 // Official opening: Thursday, 26 October 2017, 19:30

Reclam braucht keine Reklame

Launched in 1867 in Leipzig, the Reclam Universal-Bibliothek (RUB) is at the heart of what the Reclam publishing house stands for and its modern idea of offering "literature for all". Low prices in combination with large print runs resulted in very wide distribution for the works. The German Museum of Books and Writing is devoting an exhibition to the 150th anniversary of the founding of the company by Anton Philipp Reclam.

Starting with the "Classic year" of 1867, selected exhibits from the Leipzig production premises – mostly items from the collection of Dr. habil. Hans-Jochen Marquardt, Halle (Saale) – highlight aspects of book design, technical production and marketing techniques, but also the topics of serviceman libraries or RUB in the German Democratic Republic.

Free admission
Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 – 18:00, Thursday 10:00 – 20:00, national holidays 10:00 - 18:00
Official opening: Thursday, 26 October 2017, 19:30
The exhibition will run from 27 October 2017 until 3 June 2018.

Bildfabriken. Infografik 1920–1945. Fritz Kahn, Otto Neurath et al. // A temporary exhibition of the German Museum of Books and Writing of the German National Library in Leipzig // 8 September – 7 January 2018

Logo Bildfabriken

As early as 100 years ago an image-based "language" that used pictures for universal understanding was developed in typography, science and graphics. "Words separate, pictures unite," was the motto of the new visual imagery of Otto Neurath, one of the masterminds of popular infographics.

The exhibition highlights the rediscovery and profiling of the picture as a source of information and communication in the early 20th century. The main focus has been placed on the two visual concepts of Halle-based physician Fritz Kahn and Viennese science theorist Otto Neurath.. Besides publications from the rich collection of the German National Library, the exhibition features unique inventories from US and British archives. (Graphic: Kay Bachmann)

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, in cooperation with the University of Erfurt

Free admission
Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 – 18:00, Thursday 10:00 – 20:00, public holidays 10:00 – 18:00
The exhibition will run until 7 January 2018.

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Universal. Reclams Jahrhundertidee – Leipzig 1867 bis 1990 // Wechselausstellung im Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseum // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // 27. Oktober 2017 bis 3. Juni 2018 // Ausstellungseröffnung: Donnerstag, 26. Oktober 2017, 19:30 Uhr

Reclam braucht keine Reklame

Reclams Universal-Bibliothek (RUB) – 1867 in Leipzig aus der Taufe gehoben – steht als Herzstück des Reclam-Verlages für den modernen Gedanken der "Literaturversorgung für alle". Der niedrige Preis bei hoher Auflage erlaubte eine maximale Verbreitung von Texten. Zum 150. Jahrestag der Gründung widmet das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum der Idee von Anton Philipp Reclam eine Ausstellung.

Ausgehend vom "Klassikerjahr" 1867 wird anhand ausgewählter Exponate aus der Leipziger Produktion – zumeist aus der Sammlung von Dr. habil. Hans-Jochen Marquardt, Halle (Saale) – der Blick auf Buchgestaltung, technische Herstellung und Werbemethoden, aber auch auf die Themen Feldbücherei oder die RUB in der DDR gerichtet.

Eintritt frei
Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10–20 Uhr, an Feiertagen 10–18 Uhr
Ausstellungseröffnung: Donnerstag, 26. Oktober 2017, 19:30 Uhr
Die Ausstellung ist vom 27. Oktober 2017 bis zum 3. Juni 2018 zu sehen.

Bildfabriken. Infografik 1920–1945. Fritz Kahn, Otto Neurath et al. // Eine Wechselausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // 8. September 2017 bis 7. Januar 2018

Logo Bildfabriken

Bereits vor 100 Jahren wurde in Typografie, Wissenschaft und Grafik an einer bildbasierten "Sprache" gearbeitet, die sich die universelle Verständigung durch Bilder zunutze machte. "Worte trennen, Bilder vereinen", so das Motto der neuen Bildsprache von Otto Neurath, einem der Vordenker der populären Infografik.

Die Ausstellung thematisiert die Neuentdeckung und Profilierung des Bildes als Informations- und Kommunikationsquelle zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. Im Zentrum stehen die beiden Bildkonzepte des Hallenser Mediziners Fritz Kahn und des Wiener Wissenschaftstheoretikers Otto Neurath. Die Schau zeigt neben Publikationen aus dem reichen Fundus der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek auch unikale Bestände aus US-amerikanischen und britischen Archiven. (Grafik: Kay Bachmann)

Gefördert im Programm Fellowship Internationales Museum der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, in Kooperation mit der Universität Erfurt

Eintritt frei
Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18 Uhr, Donnerstag 10–20 Uhr, Feiertage 10–18 Uhr
Die Ausstellung ist bis zum 7. Januar 2018 zu sehen.

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main