Navigation and service

Overview

The book has shaped our culture and civilisation like no other medium. For centuries our knowledge about the world and its peoples has been stored, handed down and updated in books. The task of the German Museum of Books and Writing (Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum) is to collect, exhibit and process evidence of book and media history. Founded in 1884 as the Deutsches Buchgewerbemuseum (German Book Trade Museum), it was integrated in the Deutsche Bücherei in 1950 following the loss of its building and some of its stock in World War 2. It is the oldest book culture museum in the world, and also one of the most important with regard to the scope and quality of its collection.

The main focus of the museum's work today is on the book and its myriad aspects: as an ingenious invention and as the product of economic and technical processes, as a social icon and the most important vehicle of culture, as a work of art and as a censored and burned repository of ideas. Even after the transition to the era of digital networks, the museum has two main functions. It is a museum which acts as an academic documentation centre for book and media history. But it is also an inviting and vibrant place of cultural education, aimed at bringing culture to a wider audience and attracting visitors with its exhibitions and educational programmes.

The opening of the 4th annex building of the German National Library in Leipzig sees the German Museum of Books and Writing enter a new era. Air-conditioned store rooms, expanded work areas and generously proportioned public areas provide optimum conditions for the long-term storage and use of the collection. A modern reading room houses the specialist library and more than one million museum objects for research, study and practical use. The new display vault features a small selection of special collection items, ranging from medieval manuscripts and early Bible prints through to unique artists' books. The museum gallery is aimed at younger users aged between 6 and 16 in particular, and provides them with an opportunity to learn all about writing, books and paper in a more informal environment.
Serving as a showcase for the German National Library, the museum's new permanent exhibition provides an insight into 5000 years of media history. Entitled "Characters - Books - Networks: From Cuneiform to Binary Code", it spans everything from the rise of early writing systems via bookprinting with movable type through to the digital online world, and also offers a light-hearted overview of the future of the information society. As a supplement to the permanent exhibition, the virtual exhibition features trenchant histories, pictures, films and sound recordings related to 5000 years of human and media history.

Last update: 18.6.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Überblick

Das Buch hat wie kein anderes Medium unsere Kultur und Zivilisation geprägt: Seit Jahrhunderten wird unser Wissen über die Welt und über den Menschen in Büchern gespeichert, tradiert und fortgeschrieben. Die Sammlung, Ausstellung und wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung buch- und mediengeschichtlicher Zeugnisse ist die Aufgabe des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums. 1884 als Deutsches Buchgewerbemuseum in Leipzig gegründet und nach dem kriegsbedingten Verlust von Teilbeständen und Gebäude 1950 in die Deutsche Bücherei integriert, gilt es als das weltweit älteste und nach Umfang und Qualität der Bestände als eines der bedeutendsten Museen auf dem Gebiet der Buchkultur.

Im Fokus der heutigen Arbeit steht das Buch mit seinen zahllosen Gesichtern: als geniale Formfindung und als Produkt wirtschaftlicher und technischer Prozesse, als gesellschaftliche Ikone und wichtigster Kulturträger, ebenso das Buch als Kunstwerk und als zensierter und verbrannter Ideenspeicher. Es in der Summe seiner Funktionen - auch nach dem Übergang ins Zeitalter der digitalen Netzwelt - in den Blick zu nehmen, ist das Anliegen des Museums, das zum einen die Funktion einer wissenschaftlichen Dokumentationsstätte für Buchkultur und Mediengeschichte wahrnimmt und zum anderen mit seinen Ausstellungen und museumspädagogischen Programmen als ein lebendiger Ort kultureller Bildung und Vermittlung einlädt.

Im 4. Erweiterungsbau der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig hat für das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum eine neue Ära begonnen. Klimatisierte Depots, erweiterte Arbeitsflächen und großzügige öffentliche Bereiche bieten optimale Bedingungen für die Langzeitbewahrung und Nutzung des Bestandes. In einem modernen Lesesaal werden die Fachbibliothek und der museale Fundus von mehr als einer Million Objekte für Forschung, Studium und Praxis bereitgestellt. Eine kleine Auswahl besonderer Sammlungsstücke von der mittelalterlichen Handschrift über den frühen Bibeldruck bis zum Unikat-Künstlerbuch hält der neue Schautresor bereit. Im Museumskabinett hat vor allem die junge Generation von 6 bis 16 Jahren Gelegenheit zum spielerischen Lernen rund um Schrift, Buch und Papier.
Als Schaufenster der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek bietet die neue Dauerausstellung des Museums Einblick in 5000 Jahre Mediengeschichte der Menschheit. Unter dem Titel „Zeichen – Bücher – Netze: Von der Keilschrift zum Binärcode“ wird der Bogen von der Entstehung der frühen Schriftsysteme über den Buchdruck mit beweglichen Lettern bis zur digitalen Netzwelt gespannt und augenzwinkernd Ausblick in die Zukunft der Informationsgesellschaft gegeben. Ergänzend zur Dauerausstellung bietet die Virtuelle Ausstellung pointiert erzählte Geschichten, Bilder, Filme und Audiobeiträge zu 5.000 Jahre Menschheits- und Mediengeschichte.


Letzte Änderung: 14.8.2013

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main