Navigation and service

Collection of Historical Sound Recordings

The collection of historical sound recordings at the German Music Archive (Deutsches Musikarchiv) stems in part from the Deutsche Phonothek (the predecessor of the German Music Archive). In 1975 the collection included roughly 5,000 gramophone records, most of which were donations. Copies given by the Berlin Hochschule für Musik, the Harnack-Haus collection and donations from the composers Peter Kreuder and Robert Stolz, from private individuals and from broadcasting organisations formed the basis of the collection.

The German Music Archive attempts to acquire and catalogue all historical sound recordings released in Germany and make them available for academic use. It does this by making specific purchases, by bidding at auctions and by acquiring notable private collections. Of the collections obtained so far, the shellac gramophone estates of Thomas Mann, Berthold Leimbach and Franz Hutter are worthy of particular mention.

The collection currently includes 200,000 shellac records from the period between 1896 and roughly 1958. All musical genres are represented, as are non-musical recordings such as literature recordings, contemporary history documents or animal calls.

The main focus of the German Music Archives collecting activities is on German productions. However, the collection also documents the global links of the phono industry. The exchange of matrices - even back in the mechanical-acoustic era (pre-1925) - permitted the international distribution of prestigious recordings which went on to dominate the global market (ranging from Caruso through to Louis Armstrong).

The German Music Archive has developed a database for the use and further systematic expansion of the collection; its structure reflects the unique properties of these materials. The document 'unit' is a single gramophone record side. The main details of the record label are noted, faithfully reproducing the wording of the label. All discographically significant numbers and ciphers from the inside margin are also recorded. This base data is not merged or standardised. The search key specially developed for this database (label, matrix number, catalogue number) guides specialists directly to the relevant information. The keen amateur is better served using the "All terms" search key.

The collection of historical sound recordings is constantly updated in the catalogue of the German National Library.

Last update: 15.3.2013

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Sammmlung historischer Tonträger

Die Anfänge der Sammlung der Historischen Tonträger im Deutschen Musikarchiv gehen auf die Deutsche Phonothek (die Vorgängereinrichtung des Deutschen Musikarchivs) zurück. Im Jahr 1975 umfasste der Bestand etwa 5.000 Platten, die vorrangig aus Schenkungen herrührten. Die Exemplare der Berliner Hochschule für Musik, die Sammlung aus dem Harnack-Haus sowie Schenkungen der Komponisten Peter Kreuder und Robert Stolz, von Privatleuten und Rundfunkanstalten bildeten den Grundstock.

Das Musikarchiv versucht über gezielte Ankäufe, Auktionen und die Übernahme von bedeutenden Privatsammlungen möglichst alle in Deutschland erschienenen historischen Tonträger zu erwerben, zu katalogisieren und für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Von den seither erworbenen Sammlungen sind insbesondere die Schellacknachlässe von Thomas Mann, Berthold Leimbach und Franz Hutter hervorzuheben.

Die Sammlung umfasst derzeit 200.000 Schellackplatten aus der Zeit von 1896 bis etwa 1958. Vertreten sind alle musikalischen Genres, aber auch außermusikalische Sujets wie Literaturaufnahmen, zeitgeschichtliche Dokumente oder Tierstimmen.

Der Schwerpunkt der Sammeltätigkeit des Deutschen Musikarchivs liegt auf deutschen Produktionen. Die Sammlung dokumentiert aber auch die globale Verflechtung der Phonoindustrie. Durch den Austausch von Matrizen kam es - schon in der mechano-akustischen Ära (vor 1925) - zu einer internationalen Verbreitung von Aufnahmen, die besonders in ihrer prestigeträchtigen Ausprägung (von Caruso bis Louis Armstrong), den Markt weltweit dominierten.

Für die Benutzung und den weiteren systematischen Ausbau der Sammlung entwickelte das Deutsche Musikarchiv eine Datenbank, die in ihrer Struktur den Besonderheiten dieses Materials Rechnung trägt. Dokumenteinheit ist die einzelne Schallplattenseite, von der die wesentlichen Angaben des Plattenetiketts, in Schreibweise der Vorlage, abgenommen werden. Alle diskographisch bedeutsamen Nummern und Chiffren vom Plattenspiegel werden ebenfalls verzeichnet. Eine Zusammenführung oder Normierung dieser Basisdaten erfolgt nicht. Die speziell für diese Datenbank entwickelten Suchschlüssel (Label, Matrizennummer, Katalognummer) führen den Spezialisten gezielt zu relevanten Informationen. Der interessierte Laie wird den Einstieg über den Suchschlüssel "Alle Begriffe" bevorzugen.

Die Sammlung Historischer Tonträger wird im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek laufend aktualisiert.

Letzte Änderung: 16.08.2012

Kurz-URL: http://www.dnb.de/historischetontraeger

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main