Navigation and service

German Music Archive

Overview

The German Music Archive of the German National Library is the central collection point for sheet music and sound carriers in Germany and is the nation's music bibliography information centre.

German music publishers and sound recording labels are required to submit two deposit copies of their publications to the German National Library under the Law regarding the German National Library. These publications form the basis of the collection. One copy, e.g. of each item of printed music or music CD, is archived and made available for use at the Leipzig site, whereas the second copy is forwarded to the Frankfurt site of the German National Library. Sheet music and sound recordings from 1993 onwards are also held here.

In doing so the German Music Archive is helping to fulfil the German National Library's mandate to collect, document and archive the cultural and scientific heritage of Germany in the form of text, image or sound-based publications for use by the general public both now and in the future. By transferring its bibliographic data into the catalogue of the German National Library and into the Nationalbibliografie it is creating a central pool of information both for academic and practical use and also for retailers and buyers.

The German Music Archive is housed at the Leipzig site of the German National Library. As part of the construction work on the fourth annex building (completed in 2010) the Archive was equipped with new work areas and stacks, a new music reading room, a listening booth including surround-sound system, and a state-of-the-art recording studio complex.

The German Music Archive was spotlighted in the anniversary magazine HUNDERT (issue 2, Klangraum) published to commemorate the centenary of the founding of the German National Library.

Sheet music

The systematic collection of sheet music (scores) includes printed music and digital scores. The collection dates from 1943. Older items originate from purchases of musical estates.

Sound recordings

The collection of sound recordings dates back to the early days of sound carrier production in the 19th century. Early forms of music recordings include sound carriers such as shellac records, phonograph cylinders and piano rolls. These older materials stem from purchases and the estates of collectors. Sound recordings produced in the GDR have been systematically collected since the 1960s, and those from western Germany since 1970. Digital sound recordings constitute the most recent part of the collection.

Acquisition of collections

The acquisition of materials of the MIZ (Music Information Centre of the Association of Composers and Musical Scholars of the GDR) means that audio tapes, sheet music and working card files are now available which document the musical life and output of the former GDR in the area of serious music.

In July 2000 GEMA, the German society for musical performance and mechanical reproduction rights, designated the German Music Archive as the home of its music collection. The entire inventory of the GEMA archive - comprising 210,000 pieces of music - was simultaneously transferred to the German National Library.

The German Music Archive also holds further special collections and estates.

Use

The holdings of the Deutsches Musikarchiv are made available for use in the music reading room (18 audio work stations) and in a listening studio with surround-sound system. The music reading room is also equipped with keyboards for playing the sheet music.

Current editions of music journals are on display in the reading room and there is also a reference section stocked with music-related literature. All the holdings of the German National Library can be accessed from here. They can be searched for and ordered using the catalogue of the German National Library. Staff members of the German National Library are on hand to provide assistance at an information counter.

Further music bibliography services are also offered. Authority data including music-related personal names, corporate bodies and works are held in machine-readable form for searches and as a cataloguing instrument. The German Music Archive has built up a supplementary database of musical materials for loan, the Bonner Katalog, which is constantly updated in the catalogue of the German National Library.

On display in the foyer of the music reading room are exhibits including historical sound carriers, sheet music and sound reproduction equipment. The exhibition traces the main stages in the development of these media and devices. Guided tours around the German Music Archive are offered on a regular basis.

Opening hours and contact details can be found here.

History

The German Music Archive was founded in 1970 as a Berlin-based department of the Frankfurt German Library (Deutsche Bibliothek ). As a federal institution authorised to demand deposit copies, the German Music Archive continued the activities of the Deutsche Musik-Phonothek (1961–1969). The Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig and the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main were then amalgamated in 1990 by means of the German Unification Treaty to form the German National Library in its current form. 2010 saw the German Music Archive move from Berlin to the Leipzig site of the German National Library. The main focus of the Berlin collection of the German Music Archive was on sheet music from 1973. The move to Leipzig merged these stocks with those of the Leipzig collection of printed music which date back to 1943.

Last update: 10.7.2013

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Überblick

Das Deutsche Musikarchiv der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist der zentrale Sammlungsort für Notenausgaben und Tonaufnahmen und das musikbibliografische Informationszentrum Deutschlands.

Basis der Sammlung sind die Veröffentlichungen, die von deutschen Notenverlagen und Labels auf Grund des Gesetzes über die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in zwei Belegstücken abgeliefert werden. Während ein Exemplar z. B. jedes Notendrucks oder jeder Musik-CD am Leipziger Standort archiviert und zur Benutzung bereitgestellt wird, wird das zweite Exemplar an das Frankfurter Haus der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek weitergegeben. Hier werden Notenausgaben und Tonaufnahmen ab dem Jahrgang 1993 ebenfalls bereitgestellt.

Das Deutsche Musikarchiv erfüllt damit seinen Teil des Auftrags der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek, das wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Erbe Deutschlands in Schrift, Bild und Ton für die Nutzung in der Gegenwart und Zukunft zu sammeln, zu dokumentieren, zu archivieren und für die Allgemeinheit nutzbar zu machen. Durch die Übernahme der bibliografisch erfassten Daten in den Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek und in die Nationalbibliografie erarbeitet es einen zentralen Informationspool für Wissenschaft und Praxis gleichermaßen wie für Vertriebsstellen und Einkäufer.

Das Deutsche Musikarchiv ist am Leipziger Standort der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek angesiedelt. Im Zuge der Errichtung des dortigen vierten Erweiterungsbaus (Fertigstellung 2010) ist es mit neuen Arbeits- und Magazinbereichen, einem neuen Musiklesesaal, einer Hörkabine mit Surroundsystem sowie einem Tonstudiokomplex auf höchstem technischen Niveau ausgestattet worden.

Anlässlich des 100. Gründungsjubiläums der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek wurde im Jubiläumsmagazin HUNDERT (Heft 2, Klangraum) das Deutsche Musikarchiv vorgestellt.

Notenausgaben

Die systematische Sammlung von Noten (Musikalien) umfasst Notendrucke und digitale Notenausgaben. Sie reicht bis in das Jahr 1943 zurück. Ältere Stücke stammen aus Nachlassankäufen.

Tonaufnahmen

Die Sammlung von Tonaufnahmen geht bis in die Anfänge der Tonträgerproduktion im 19. Jahrhundert zurück. Mit Tonträgern wie Schellackplatten und Phonographenzylindern sowie Klavierrollen sind frühe Formen der Musikaufzeichnung einbezogen. Diese älteren Materialien stammen aus Sammlernachlässen und Ankäufen. Tonträger aus DDR-Produktion sind systematisch ab den 1960er-Jahren, aus BRD-Produktion ab 1970 gesammelt. Digitale Tonträger bilden den jüngsten Sammlungsteil.

Übernahmen von Sammlungen

Durch die Übernahme der Materialien des Musikinformationszentrums des Verbandes der Komponisten und Musikwissenschaftler der DDR (MIZ-DDR) stehen Tonbänder, Noten und Werkkarteien zur Verfügung, die das Musikleben und -schaffen der ehemaligen DDR auf dem Gebiet der E-Musik dokumentieren.
Die Gesellschaft für musikalische Aufführungs- und mechanische Vervielfältigungsrechte (GEMA) hat im Juli 2000 das Deutsche Musikarchiv zum Sammlungsort ihrer Noten bestimmt. Zugleich ist der Gesamtbestand des GEMA-Archivs von 210.000 Noten der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek übereignet worden.

Das Deutsche Musikarchiv verfügt über weitere Spezialsammlungen und Nachlässe.

Nutzung

Die Bestände des Deutschen Musikarchivs werden im Musiklesesaal (18 Audioarbeitsplätze) und in einem Hörstudio mit Surround-System bereitgestellt. Zu der Ausstattung des Musiklesesaals gehören auch Klaviaturen zum Anspielen von Noten.

Im Lesesaal sind aktuelle Musikzeitschriften ausgelegt und es steht ein Handapparat einschlägiger Literatur zur Verfügung. Alle Bestände der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek sind hier erhältlich. Sie sind über den Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek zu recherchieren und zu bestellen. An einem Informationstresen stehen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek gerne für Auskünfte bereit.

Es werden weitere musikbibliografische Dienstleistungen angeboten. Für Recherchezwecke und als Katalogisierungsinstrument sind zudem Normdaten von Personennamen, Körperschaften und Werktiteln der Musik in maschinenlesbarer Form verfügbar. Ergänzend hat das Deutsche Musikarchiv eine Datenbank musikalischer Leihmateriale aufgebaut, den Bonner Katalog, der im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek laufend aktualisiert wird.

Im Foyer zum Musiklesesaal sind Exponate wie Tonträger, Noten und Tonabspielgeräte ausgestellt. Die Präsentation zeichnet wesentliche Entwicklungsschritte dieser Medien und Geräte nach. Regelmäßig werden Führungen durch das Deutsche Musikarchiv angeboten.

Öffnungszeiten und Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

Geschichte

Das Deutsche Musikarchiv wurde 1970 als eine in Berlin ansässige Abteilung der Frankfurter Deutschen Bibliothek gegründet. Damit setzte das Deutsche Musikarchiv als bundesstaatliche Einrichtung mit Pflichtexemplarrecht die Tätigkeiten der Deutschen Musik-Phonothek (1961–1969) fort. Die Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig und die Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main wurden mit dem deutschen Einigungsvertrag 1990 zusammengeführt und bilden die heutige Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. Im Jahr 2010 zog das Deutsche Musikarchiv aus Berlin an den Leipziger Sitz der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. Schwerpunkt der Berliner Sammlung des Deutschen Musikarchivs waren Notenausgaben ab 1973. Mit dem Umzug an den Standort Leipzig wurden diese Bestände mit der Leipziger Musikaliensammlung zusammengeführt, die bis in das Jahr 1943 zurück datiert.

Letzte Änderung: 14.8.2013

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main