Navigation and service

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Why does the German National Library collect online publications?

The Law regarding the German National Library (DNBG) came into force on 29.6.06. A major aspect of the new law is the expansion of the collection brief to cover Internet publications, so-called "net" or "online" publications. The newly revised law adds online publications with no physical carrier to the library's long-standing brief of collecting books and sound carriers. This modernises the Library's ability to preserve the digital cultural heritage. The expanded legal brief has been expressed in concrete terms in the revised version of the collection guidelines.(available only in German)

Which online publications are subject to the collection brief of the German National Library?

The collection field of online publications covers all text, image and sound-based works made available in public networks. The submission obligation covers both Internet publications with corresponding printed versions and also web-specific media works. Examples of online publications include electronic magazines, eBooks, university dissertations, digitised content, music files and also websites.

Are there restrictions to the collection brief?

Temporary pre-publications, pure software or application tools, and radio and TV programmes are not collected.

Online publications which only serve commercial purposes are not collected either. This includes websites featuring customer presentations of a particular company's goods and services. Purely private websites (such as private photos or descriptions of holidays) are not collected, nor are blogs with no particular thematic focus. The details are regulated in the Legal Deposit Regulation and section 2.2 of the collection guidelines.(available only in German)

The collection brief applies correspondingly for music publications collected in the German Music Archive (Deutsches Musikarchiv), a department of the German National Library.

Which online publications are collected at present?

The object of the current stage of development is the collection of individual online publications with corresponding printed versions like electronic magazines, eBooks and university dissertations. The information you require can be found in Delivery.

The German National Library has been collecting selected websites since 2012. It does so using an automatic process (web harvesting). Further information can be found under Web Archive.

Do Kindle e-books have to be submitted?

Kindle e-books sold by Amazon are, in principle, also covered by the collection mandate. However, the format is currently deemed to be unsuitable for long-term preservation and the DNB is dispensing with the collection of Kindle e-books at present. In cases where Kindle authors are the publisher and owner of the distribution rights themselves, they can voluntarily submit a version of their e-book in EPUB form via our web form.

Does the German National Library also collect audio files?

Audio files which are published on the Internet or are available as podcasts fall under the collection brief, except for works which are exclusively intended for broadcast by radio stations. The relevant workflow is currently being set up, which is why audio files are not yet being collected. Once the procedure has been implemented, the German National Library will contact those obliged to submit such works.

What about publications which are offered both in print and online versions?

In this case, both the printed work and also the online publication are subject to the collection brief and must be submitted to/collected by the German National Library.

Who submits online publications?

Online publications may only be submitted to the German National Library by those holding distribution rights (publishers, publishing offices), or other bodies appointed/authorised by them (e.g. sales department, host).
Further information can be found under Cooperation partners.

Do online publications which are held on a server located abroad also have to be submitted?

According to Article 15 of the Law regarding the German National Library (DNBG), the obligation to submit works extends to "persons who are entitled to disseminate the media work or to make it publicly accessible and whose headquarters, place of business or main domicile is in Germany." The location of the server is therefore decisive.

What happens if a submitter does not fulfil his/her submission obligations?

Suitable procedures for the large-scale collection, cataloguing, indexing and archiving of online publications are gradually being developed. Until the German National Library has conclusively specified the procedures etc. concerning the scope and method of collection and accessibility to the works, it will not be seeking to impose infringement procedures and may choose not to ingest the relevant online publications immediately, but to reserve them and then request their submission once the appropriate technology and regulations are in place.

Who does the German National Library accept online university publication applications from?

The German National Library only accepts notifications from the university library specified in the doctorate regulations.

Why is it necessary to provide metadata?

The bibliographic and technical data obtained via these forms constitute the basis for the bibliographic description and digital preservation; it is also used for process control in the library. Also, data is obtained which cannot be obtained from the online publication itself, e.g. rights information.

What metadata is needed for submitting an online dissertation?

All the metadata elements are listed in the XMetaDissPlus (available only in German) document for online university publications of the German National Library. Details are specified regarding the level of obligation (mandatory, optional), the repeatability, syntax and semantics of the individual elements.

What should I do if the Internet address (URL) of an online publication is changed later?

The German National Library will not make any subsequent alterations to the given Internet address unless this is clearly incorrect in the notification. Instead the German National Library actively promotes the issuing of persistent identifiers for electronic publications. The address of the archived version on the archive server of the German National Library is designed so that it remains indefinitely available using current technology.

What should I do if it later emerges that incorrect or incomplete metadata has been sent?

Correction notifications should be sent by email to the

What happens to the archived online publications and how can users access them?

The German National Library archives the online publications and ensures their long-term accessibility and authenticity using state-of-the-art technology. Users are granted access to the archived online publications in our library reading rooms. The reading stations for online publications have no Internet connection and there is no possibility for users to save the online publications to a storage medium they have brought with them, or for them to process the information in any way. Copyright stipulations are observed if any print outs are made.

The submitter can also extend access:

to registered external users

to include unrestricted access to all users

Where is there an overview of the DNB subject groups?

An overview of the DNB subject groups can be found in the help text of the web form.(available only in German)

Which criteria must an online publication fulfil?

Only online publications which have actually been published may be deposited; their content and format must be identical to those of the original publication on the submitter's server. To ensure that the data can be preserved on a permanent basis, they should not incorporate password and/or copy protection. For details see Instructions for submitting publications.

In which file format should online publications be delivered?

Online publications are collected in the file format in which they are published.The preferred file formats are PDF/A and other PDF versions. Please do not send us unpublished PDF versions created specially for us.

Exceptions are Kindle e-books which may not be archived e.g. on account of DRM protection. Kindle authors can voluntarily submit a version of their e-book in EPUB form via our web form.

How should monograph publications and sheet music be submitted to the German National Library?

The publication is submitted together with the metadata via a web form, held for collection via an OAI interface or transmitted via SFTP or WebDAV interface.

Sheet music can only be submitted via the web form at present.

Further information can be found under Submission procedures.

How should periodical publications be registered and submitted?

In the case of periodically issued online publications (e.g. electronic magazines, annual reports, company reports, email newsletters), a distinction is made between title notification and delivery.

A title notification is used for the first registration of a periodically issued publication or if there is a change in the title of a periodical publication which has already been registered. This is performed using the "Periodical publication - Title notification" form.

The individual issues or articles are then submitted together with the "Periodical publication - Delivery" form. A selection list of all registered journals from a publishing house or publishing department is provided, permitting allocation to a particular publication. The submission form allows collection of the publication through the entry of a URL, or the direct uploading of a file. There are size restrictions of 500 MB and 50 MB respectively.

The preferred file formats are PDF/A and other PDF versions. Please do not send us unpublished PDF versions created specially for us.

How is the German National Library notified of an online dissertation?

The metadata and the URL of the university publication need to be submitted to the German National Library. There are two methods of transfer:

OAI-DataProvider interface

Web form for submission of monographic online publications and university dissertations and theses

In which format should the online university publication be submitted?

The German National Library currently accepts all formats commonly used in the Internet.

What should be done if the maximum file size of 50 MB (file upload) or 500 MB (URL upload) for an online publication submission is exceeded?

Please send an email to the .

What is an URN (Uniform Resource Name)?

All online publications archived in the German National Library require an Uniform Resource Name (URN). The URN is a persistent identifier which permanently and uniquely identifies and addresses an online publication, independently of its storage location. The DNB operates an URN resolver which lists all registered URNs. The resolver guides the user to the locations (URLs) of an online publication. For details see URN Service.

If you have questions concerning the issuing of a URN please contact .

Further information can be found at http://www.persistent-identifier.de.

Where are online publications recorded bibliographically?

Similar to printed publications, online publications are recorded in the Deutsche Nationalbibliografie and in the catalogue of the German National Library.

Last update: 31.03.2015

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Netzpublikationen - häufig gestellte Fragen (FAQ)

Warum sammelt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek Netzpublikationen?

Am 29.06.2006 trat das Gesetz über die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Kraft. Ein wesentlicher Inhalt des neuen Gesetzes ist die Erweiterung des Sammelauftrages um unkörperliche Medienwerke, so genannte Netzpublikationen. Mit der Neufassung des Gesetzes werden Veröffentlichungen, die als Netzpublikationen keinen körperlichen Träger haben, ebenso in den Sammelauftrag der Bibliothek aufgenommen, wie es etwa Bücher und Tonträger schon seit langem sind. Die Bibliothek wird damit in die Lage versetzt, einen zeitgemäßen Beitrag zur Wahrung des digitalen Kulturerbes zu leisten. Die Konkretisierung des erweiterten gesetzlichen Auftrages erfolgte durch die Pflichtablieferungsverordnung und die Sammelrichtlinien.

Welche Netzpublikationen gehören zum Sammelgebiet der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek?

Zum Sammelgebiet Netzpublikationen gehören alle Darstellungen in Schrift, Bild und Ton, die in öffentlichen Netzen zugänglich gemacht werden. Die Abgabepflicht umfasst sowohl Internetpublikationen mit Entsprechung zum Print-Bereich als auch web-spezifische Medienwerke. Beispiele für Netzpublikationen sind E-Books, elektronische Zeitschriften, Hochschulprüfungsarbeiten, Musikdateien, Digitalisate oder auch Webseiten.

Gibt es Einschränkungen bei der Sammelpflicht?

Zeitlich begrenzte Vorabveröffentlichungen, reine Software- oder Anwendungstools und auch Fernseh- und Hörfunkproduktionen werden nicht gesammelt.

Ebenso werden Netzpublikationen, die rein gewerblichen Zwecken dienen, nicht gesammelt. Darunter fallen Webseiten mit Darstellungen der Dienstleistungen und Angebote einzelner Unternehmen für Kunden. Rein private Webseiten (Beispiel: private Fotos oder Urlaubsbeschreibungen) sind ebenso wenig sammelpflichtig wie Blogs ohne Themenbezug. Die Einzelheiten sind in der Pflichtablieferungsverordnung und dem Teil 2.2 der Sammelrichtlinien geregelt.

Für Publikationen im Bereich Musik, die im Deutschen Musikarchiv, einer Abteilung der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek, gesammelt werden, gilt der Sammelauftrag entsprechend.

Welche Netzpublikationen werden derzeit von der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek gesammelt?

Gegenstand der momentanen Entwicklungsstufe ist die einzelobjektbezogene Ablieferung von Netzpublikationen mit Entsprechung zum Printbereich, also z.B. E-Books, elektronische Zeitschriften, Hochschulprüfungsarbeiten, Noten oder Digitalisate. Im Bereich Ablieferung informieren wir Sie über zwei mögliche Verfahren: Ablieferung über ein Webformular oder über ein automatisiertes Verfahren.

Ausgewählte Webseiten werden seit 2012 durch einen Dienstleister über ein automatisiertes Verfahren (Webharvesting) eingesammelt.

Sind Kindle-E-Books ablieferungspflichtig?

Prinzipiell gehören über Amazon Kindle vertriebene E-Books zum Sammelauftrag. Da das Dateiformat sich nach augenblicklicher Einschätzung nicht für die Langzeitarchivierung eignet, verzichtet die DNB derzeit auf eine Ablieferung von Kindle-E-Books.
Kindle-Autoren, sofern sie als Selbstverleger Inhaber des Verbreitungsrechtes sind, können auf freiwilliger Basis eine Version ihres E-Books im EPUB-Format über unser Webformular übermitteln.

Sammelt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek auch Audiodateien?

Audiodateien, die im Netz veröffentlicht oder als Podcast erhältlich sind, sind sammelpflichtig, wenn es sich nicht um ausschließlich im Rundfunk gesendete Werke handelt. Derzeit wird der Workflow dafür aufgebaut, deshalb können Audiodateien noch nicht erfasst werden. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek wird sich nach Implementierung des Verfahrens mit den Ablieferungspflichtigen in Verbindung setzen.

Was ist mit Publikationen, die als Printausgabe und als Netzpublikation angeboten werden?

In diesem Fall sind sowohl das gedruckte Werk als auch die Netzpublikation sammelpflichtig und müssen an die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek abgeliefert bzw. von ihr eingesammelt werden.

Wer ist berechtigt Netzpublikationen abzuliefern?

Netzpublikationen dürfen an die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek nur von denjenigen abgeliefert werden, die für sie das Recht zur Verbreitung haben (Verlage, herausgebende Stellen, Selbstverleger), bzw. von ihnen zur Ablieferung beauftragt/autorisiert sind (z.B. Vertrieb, Host). Siehe hierzu die Seite Kooperationspartner.

Sind Netzpublikationen auch ablieferungspflichtig, wenn die Dateien auf einem Server im Ausland liegen?

Laut § 15 des Gesetzes über die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ist ablieferungspflichtig, "wer berechtigt ist, das Medienwerk zu verbreiten oder öffentlich zugänglich zu machen und den Sitz, eine Betriebsstätte oder den Hauptwohnsitz in Deutschland hat." Entscheidend ist also nicht der Standort des Servers.

Was geschieht, wenn ein Ablieferer seiner Ablieferungspflicht nicht nachkommt?

Die Entwicklung geeigneter Verfahren für den Massenbetrieb der Sammlung, Erschließung und Archivierung von Netzpublikationen erfolgt stufenweise. Solange die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek die Verfahren und Festlegungen bezüglich Sammlungsumfang, Sammlungstechnik und Verfügbarmachung noch nicht abschließend getroffen hat, wird sie keine Ordnungswidrigkeitsverfahren anstrengen und abzuliefernde Netzpublikationen gegebenenfalls nicht gleich übernehmen, sondern vormerken und erst anfordern, wenn der Stand der Technik und der Absprachen dies zulässt.

Von wem nimmt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek Anmeldungen für Online-Hochschulschriften deutscher Hochschulen entgegen?

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek akzeptiert nur die Meldungen der gemäß Promotionsordnung zuständigen Universitätsbibliothek.

Warum ist die Angabe von Metadaten unbedingt notwendig?

Die über diese Formulare erhobenen oder bei der Übermittlung durch eine Schnittstelle bereit gestellten bibliografischen und technischen Daten sind Grundlage der bibliografischen Beschreibung und der Langzeitarchivierung und dienen ferner der Geschäftsgangssteuerung in der Bibliothek. Zudem werden Daten erhoben, z.B. Angaben zu Rechten, die der Netzpublikation selbst nicht entnehmbar sind.

Welche Metadaten werden für die Meldung einer Online-Hochschulschrift benötigt?

Im Dokument XMetaDissPlus für Online-Hochschulschriften der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek sind alle Metadaten-Elemente aufgeführt. Es werden Angaben zur Form der Verpflichtung (obligatorisch, fakultativ), zur Wiederholbarkeit sowie zur Syntax und Semantik der einzelnen Elemente gemacht.

Was tun, wenn sich die Internetadresse (Herkunfts-URL) einer Netzpublikation nachträglich ändert?

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek führt an der angegebenen Internetadresse keine nachträglichen Änderungen durch, außer wenn diese offensichtlich falsch in der Anmeldung angegeben wurde. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek fördert stattdessen aktiv die Vergabe beständiger Identifikatoren (Persistent Identifier) für elektronische Publikationen. Die Adressierung der archivierten Version auf dem Archivserver der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist so gestaltet, dass sie nach derzeitigem Stand der Technik beständig verfügbar gehalten werden kann.

Was tun, wenn sich nachträglich herausstellt, dass Metadaten mit fehlerhaften oder unvollständigen Angaben übermittelt wurden?

Korrekturmeldungen werden per E-Mail vom entgegengenommen.

Was geschieht mit den archivierten Netzpublikationen und wie kann die Benutzerin bzw. der Benutzer darauf zugreifen?

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek archiviert die Netzpublikationen und stellt nach dem Stand der Technik ihre Langzeitverfügbarkeit und Authentizität sicher. Den Benutzerinnen und Benutzern steht je ein Zugriff auf die archivierte Netzpublikation in unseren Lesesälen in Frankfurt am Main und Leipzig zur Verfügung. Die Leseplätze für Netzpublikationen haben keinen Internetanschluss und es besteht keine Möglichkeit, die Netzpublikationen auf einem mitgebrachten Speichermedium zu speichern oder anderweitig weiter zu verarbeiten. Bei Ausdrucken werden die urheberrechtlichen Bestimmungen beachtet.

Darüber hinaus kann der Ablieferer den Zugriff erweitern:

  • für registrierte Benutzer von außerhalb
  • auf uneingeschränkten Zugriff für jedermann

Wo gibt es eine Übersicht der Sachgruppen der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie?

Eine Übersicht der Sachgruppen der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie (DNB-Sachgruppen) finden Sie im Hilfetext des Webformulars.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss eine Netzpublikation erfüllen?

Es dürfen nur tatsächlich veröffentlichte Netzpublikationen abgeliefert werden; sie müssen sowohl inhaltlich als auch im Format mit der Original-Publikation auf dem Server des Ablieferers übereinstimmen. Um die Langzeitarchivierung gewährleisten zu können, dürfen sie nicht mit einem Kennwort- und/oder Kopierschutz versehen sein. Zu den Einzelheiten s. Anleitung zur Ablieferung.

In welchem Dateiformat sollen Netzpublikationen abgeliefert werden?

Netzpublikationen werden in dem Dateiformat gesammelt, in dem sie veröffentlicht wurden. Über die Webformulare und die automatisierten Ablieferungsverfahren lassen sich PDF-Dokumente, E-Books im EPUB-Format und Container- bzw. Archivdateien übertragen. Die bevorzugten Dateiformate sind PDF/A und andere PDF-Versionen. Bitte liefern Sie keine unveröffentlichten, extra für uns hergestellten PDF-Versionen ab.

Eine Ausnahme stellen Kindle-E-Books dar, die u. a. wegen des DRM-Schutzes nicht archiviert werden können. Kindle-Autoren können auf freiwilliger Basis eine Version ihres E-Books im EPUB-Format über unser Webformular übermitteln.

Wie erfolgt die Übermittlung monografischer Publikationen und Noten an die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek?

Monografische Publikationen werden zusammen mit den Metadaten über ein Webformular abgeliefert, zur Abholung über eine OAI-Schnittstelle bereitgestellt oder per SFTP- oder WebDAV-Schnittstelle übertragen.

Noten können derzeit ausschließlich über das Webformular abgeliefert werden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Ablieferungsverfahren.

Wie sollen periodische Publikationen gemeldet und übermittelt werden?

Bei einer fortlaufend erscheinenden Netzpublikation (z.B. elektronische Zeitschrift, Jahrbuch, Geschäftsbericht) werden die Webformulare Titelmeldung und Lieferung unterschieden.

Eine Titelmeldung wird einmalig für die Anmeldung einer fortlaufenden Publikation oder bei der Titeländerung einer bereits angemeldeten periodischen Publikation verwendet.

Mit dem Formular Lieferung werden anschließend die einzelnen Hefte bzw. Artikel übermittelt. Für die Zuordnung zur Zeitschrift steht eine Auswahlliste aller angemeldeten Zeitschriften eines Verlages bzw. einer verlegenden Stelle zur Verfügung.

Periodika können auch über eine OAI-Schnittstelle abgeliefert werden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Ablieferungsverfahren.

Wie wird der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek eine Online-Hochschulschrift gemeldet?

Dazu müssen der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek die Metadaten und die Transfer-URL der Hochschulschrift übermittelt werden. Es existieren zwei Transportwege:

  • OAI-DataProvider-Schnittstelle
  • Webformular zur Ablieferung von monografischen Netzpublikationen und Hochschulprüfungsarbeiten

In welchem Format sollte die Online-Hochschulschrift abgeliefert werden?

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek akzeptiert derzeit alle im Internet üblichen Formate.

Was tun, wenn bei Ablieferung von Netzpublikationen die Dateigröße von 50 MB (Datei hochladen) bzw. 500 MB (Datei per URL abliefern) überschritten wird?

Bitte wenden Sie sich per E-Mail an den .

Was ist ein URN (Uniform Resource Name)?

Alle Netzpublikationen, die in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek archiviert werden, benötigen einen Uniform Resource Name (URN). Der URN ist ein Persistent Identifier, der eine Netzpublikation auf Dauer und unabhängig vom Ort der Speicherung eindeutig identifiziert und adressiert. Die DNB betreibt einen URN-Resolver, der alle registrierten URNs verzeichnet. Der Resolver führt die Benutzer zu den Standorten (URLs) einer Netzpublikation. Einzelheiten s. URN-Service.

Bei Fragen zur URN-Vergabe wenden Sie sich bitte an .

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter http://www.persistent-identifier.de.

Wo werden Netzpublikationen verzeichnet?

Netzpublikationen werden analog zu gedruckten Publikationen in der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie sowie im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek verzeichnet.

Letzte Änderung: 27.03.2015

Kurz-URL: http://www.dnb.de/npfaq

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main