Navigation and service

Long-term Preservation

he preservation of online publications represents a particular challenge. The digital data itself must be preserved, but so, too, must its long-term accessibility. This means preserving the interpretability of the content of the digital data. Ongoing technical advances are resulting in constant changes in hardware and software. It should be ensured that publications saved in new file formats can be used on current computer systems in the same way they were on the original systems which are now long obsolete. To achieve this, an earlier system environment can be recreated on a current system (emulation) or an earlier file format can be converted into a current one (migration).

The German National Library meets this challenge by deploying and developing technical solutions and by devising joint solutions in national and international partnerships.

In the kopal project the German National Library and its partners set up a jointly usable digital repository from 2004 to 2007. This included the administration of information for supporting migration and emulation in LMER format (digital preservation metadata for electronic resources). Also, the open-source software koLibRI (kopal Library for Retrieval and Ingest) was created, providing a framework which can be used for setting up format migration processes. Based on the results of the kopal project, the German National Library and other partners in the DP4lib project developed a long-term preservation service in 2013 which operates under the name AREDO.

The archive system of the German National Library has been certified as a trusted repository as defined in the Data Seal of Approval guidelines.

The nestor project was previously sponsored by the BMBF but has been operated as a cooperation association since 2009. The competence network for digital preservation in Germany was set up under the leadership of the German National Library. It is the central point of contact for all matters regarding the long-term preservation of digital resources.

The German National Library is involved in implementing the DFG eDissPlus project. Previous long-term digital preservation projects in which the German National Library was involved include EMiL, LuKII, PARSE.Insight, SHAMAN, KEEP, 4C, APARSEN and NEDLIB.

Certified repository

Nestor-Siegel 2016

In 2015 and 2016 the German National Library subjected its processes and systems for digital long-term archiving to an extended assessment by nestor in accordance with DIN 31644. In 2016 it was awarded the nestor seal for online publications.

Data Seal of Approval 2014 - 2017

The archive system of the German National Library was certified in 2015 as a trusted repository as defined in the Data Seal of Approval guidelines.

Long-term preservation policy of the German National Library (version 1.1, last updated: 8 July 2014) urn:nbn:de:101-2015072105

Other relevant documents on how long-term preservation is handled at the German National Library (available only in German)

Last update: 23.03.2016

Short-URL: http://www.dnb.de/ltp

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Langzeitarchivierung

Die Langzeitarchivierung von Netzpublikationen stellt eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Zum einen muss der Erhalt der digitalen Daten sichergestellt sein, zum anderen muss aber auch die Langzeitverfügbarkeit gewährleistet werden. Darunter versteht man den Erhalt der Interpretierbarkeit der Inhalte der digitalen Daten. Der ständige technische Fortschritt führt zu einer sich laufend ändernden Software und Hardware. Publikationen in neuen Dateiformaten müssen auf aktuellen Computersystemen genauso genutzt werden können, wie solche in längst obsoleten. Um dies zu ermöglichen, kann entweder eine frühere Systemumgebung auf einer aktuellen nachgestellt werden (Emulation) oder ein früheres Dateiformat in ein aktuelles konvertiert werden (Migration).

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek stellt sich dieser Herausforderung durch Einsatz und Weiterentwicklung von technischen Verfahren und in nationaler und internationaler Zusammenarbeit bei der Konzeption gemeinsamer Lösungen.

Im Projekt kopal wurde von 2004 bis 2007 zusammen mit Partnern ein kooperativ nutzbares Langzeitarchiv aufgebaut. Dazu gehört auch die Verwaltung von Informationen zur Unterstützung von Migration und Emulation im Format LMER (Langzeitarchivierungsmetadaten für elektronische Ressourcen). Zudem entstand mit der Open-Source-Software koLibRI (kopal Library for Retrieval and Ingest) ein nachnutzbarer Rahmen für den Aufbau von Formatmigrationsabläufen. Aufbauend auf den Ergebnissen von kopal wurde gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern im Projekt DP4lib (Digital Preservation for Libraries) ein Service zur Langzeitarchivierung entwickelt, der seit 2013 unter dem Namen AREDO betrieben wird.

Das Archivsystem der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek wurde nach den Richtlinien des Data Seal of Approval als vertrauenswürdiges Langzeitarchiv zertifiziert.

Das ehemals vom BMBF geförderte Projekt nestor ist seit 2009 ein Kooperationsverbund. Unter der Federführung der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist das Kompetenznetzwerk zur digitalen Langzeitarchivierung für Deutschland entstanden, welches sich als Anlaufstelle für Fragen rund um die Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Ressourcen versteht.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ist ist an der Durchführung des DFG-Projektes eDissPlus beteiligt. Vergangene Forschungsprojekte zur digitalen Langzeitarchivierung, an denen sich die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek beteiligt hat, sind EMiL, LuKII, PARSE.Insight, SHAMAN, KEEP, 4C, APARSEN und NEDLIB.

Zertifiziertes Langzeitarchiv

Nestor-Siegel 2016

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek hat ihre Prozesse und Systeme zur digitalen Langzeitarchivierung 2015 und 2016 einer erweiterten Selbstevaluierung nach DIN 31644 durch nestor unterzogen. 2016 wurde ihr für den Bereich der Netzpublikationen das nestor-Siegel verliehen

Data Seal of Approval 2014 - 2017

Das Archivsystem der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek wurde 2015 nach den Richtlinien des Data Seal of Approval als vertrauenswürdiges Langzeitarchiv zertifiziert.

Langzeitarchivierungs-Policy der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek (Version 1.1, Stand: 8. Juli 2014) urn:nbn:de:101-2014070801

Weitere relevante Dokumente zur Handhabung der Langzeitarchivierung an der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek

Letzte Änderung: 07.11.2016

Kurz-URL: http://www.dnb.de/lza

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main