Navigation and service

Digitisation

The digitisation and public provision of Germany’s cultural heritage are national tasks of historic importance and great urgency in the age of the Internet and global communications. On the basis of its legal mandate (DNBG) and the act governing the use of orphaned and out-of-commerce works (UrhGuaÄndG) the German National Library has a major role to play role in completing this task; a task which can, however, only be fulfilled cooperatively. In addition, digitisation represents a precondition for the German National Library to fulfil its legally defined tasks in a modern form which is suitable for the 20th and 21st centuries.

The digitisation strategy of the German National Library is part of its overall strategy. This has multiple objectives:
Firstly, digitisation serves to protect and preserve the original text, image and sound documents of Germany’s cultural memory. A further objective of digitisation is to radically improve the visibility, access to and usage possibilities of the Library’s own resources for science and research, education and culture as well as for the general public in Germany and abroad. The Library operates on the fundamental principle of open access and, within the limits of its copyright framework, on the principles of providing free access to the digitised objects, of embedding these in innovative academic, social and cultural contexts, and of attracting new user groups who are less familiar with books.

As part of the collection care work, publications are currently being digitised, the originals of which are no longer available to users on account of their preservation status (approx. 6,500 works, including roughly 500,000 pages per year). In addition, the tables of contents of all incoming new books are being digitised on an ongoing basis and made available for use around the world free of charge. Cooperation with the Ancestry Information Operations Company is now making it possible to digitise over 10,000 address books held by the DNB which were released in or before 1955.

By the end of 2016 the German National Library had digitised 87,688 objects, including 9,372,309 pages and about 1,6 million tables of contents and 4,522 audio files.

Last update: 20.04.2017

Short-URL: http://www.dnb.de/digitisation

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Digitalisierung

Die Digitalisierung und die öffentliche Bereitstellung der kulturellen Überlieferung Deutschlands sind im Zeitalter des Internets und der globalen Kommunikation nationale Aufgaben von historischer Bedeutung und hoher Dringlichkeit. Aufgrund ihres gesetzlichen Auftrages (DNBG) und vor dem Hintergrund des Gesetzes zur Nutzung verwaister und vergriffener Werke (UrhGuaÄndG) sieht sich die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in besonderer Weise dazu aufgerufen, einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zur Bewältigung dieser insgesamt nur kooperativ zu erfüllenden Aufgabe zu leisten. Darüber hinaus ist die Digitalisierung für die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek eine Voraussetzung dafür, dass sie ihre gesetzlich definierten Aufgaben für das 20. und 21. Jahrhundert in zeitgemäßer Form erfüllen kann.

Die Digitalisierungsstrategie der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist Teil der Gesamtstrategie der Nationalbibliothek. Mit ihr werden mehrere Ziele verfolgt:
Zum einen dient die Digitalisierung dem Schutz und Erhalt der originalen Text-, Bild- und Tondokumente des kulturellen Gedächtnisses Deutschlands. Zum anderen sollen mit der Digitalisierung die Sichtbarkeit, der Zugang sowie die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der eigenen Bestände für Wissenschaft und Forschung, für Bildung und Kultur sowie für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit im In- und Ausland grundlegend verbessert werden. Dabei folgt die Bibliothek dem Grundgedanken von Open Access und strebt im Rahmen der urheberrechtlichen Möglichkeiten den freien Zugang zu den digitalisierten Objekten, deren Einbindung in innovative wissenschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Kontexte sowie die Gewinnung neuer, nicht mehr buchaffiner Nutzergruppen an.

Aktuell werden im Rahmen der Bestandserhaltung Werke digitalisiert, die aufgrund ihres Erhaltungszustands Nutzerinnen und Nutzern nicht mehr im Original zur Verfügung gestellt werden können (ca. 6.500 Werke mit etwa 500.000 Seiten pro Jahr). Darüber hinaus werden die Inhaltsverzeichnisse aller neu eingehenden Bücher laufend digitalisiert und zur Nutzung weltweit frei zur Verfügung gestellt. Auf der Basis einer Kooperation mit Ancestry Information Operations Company können jetzt auch über 10.000 in der DNB vorhandene Adressbücher bis Erscheinungsjahr 1967 digitalisiert werden.

Ende 2016 hatte die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek 87.688 Objekte mit 9.372.309 Seiten sowie knapp 1,6 Mio. Inhaltsverzeichnisse und 4.522 Audio-Objekte digitalisiert.

Letzte Änderung: 03.04.2017

Kurz-URL: http://www.dnb.de/digitalisierung

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main