Navigation and service

Catalogue Enrichment

As part of the ongoing and retrospective process of catalogue enrichment, the German National Library is digitising the tables of contents (TOCs) of current books, special editions of serials, journals and loose-leaf works of bibliography series A, B and H. The digitised tables of contents permit catalogue users to obtain a concise evaluation of the content of the required literature, as the TOCs can be accessed during the search process itself. An ongoing subscription of metadata is available via the catalogue enrichment service. . The digitised tables of contents can be freely re-used under "Creative Commons Zero"- conditions (CC0 1.0) and full-text searches can be made of them.

Since 2008 the German National Library has been digitising the tables of contents of books and special editions of serials, journals and loose-leaf works newly published by the publishing trade (Series A of the Deutschen Nationalbibliografie) and making them available via its catalogue and data services to users worldwide. The scanning work has gradually been expanded, both for new acquisitions and also retroactively for library stocks which have already been archived. Today the tables of contents of books in bibliography Series A are gradually being scanned, as are the tables of contents of publications released outside the publishing trade (Series B) or as a university publication (Series H). Newly acquired publications from abroad, including foreign publications about Germany ("Germanica") and translations of German works are also being digitised. The exceptions are fiction and poetry, textbooks and children's and young people's literature.
Roughly 60,000 tables of contents of older library stocks are being digitised each year in retrospective projects.
The German National Library has also acquired roughly 312,500 tables of contents from German and Austrian library alliances to supplement its own data. The German National Library currently provides more than one million searchable tables of contents December 2013). Roughly 100,000 tables of contents of newly acquired publications and approximately 60,000 tables of contents of books from the 1980s and 1990s are added each year.

Free full copy of data for works published up to 2012

A full copy of all bibliographic data, including persistent hyperlinks, to the digitised, searchable table of contents for works published up to and including 2012 is available free of charge. The collected copy is updated in the first quarter of each year. The bibliographic data and the digitised tables of contents are provided for free re-use under "Creative Commons Zero"- conditions (CC0 1.0).
They are provided in three packages divided into publication periods in the MARC 21 oder MARC21-XML format variants in code UTF-8 decomposed code (PDF, 25KB, Not barrier-free file.):

  1. Package: Works published up to 1899 (7.565 data records)
  2. Package: Works published from 1900 to 1999 (462.596 data records)
  3. Package: Works published from 2000 to 2012 (529.500 data records)

Log-in data

To obtain the relevant access details, please mail our department, specifying the required format.

Catalogue enrichment service

The German National Library continuously provides the bibliographic data of newly published books, special editions of serials, journals and loose-leaf works of bibliography series A, B and H with persistent hyperlinks to the digitised, searchable table of contents in Portable Document Format (PDF). The bibliographic data are presented in the form stipulated by the cataloguing rules of the German National Library; they do not generally contain subject cataloguing data.
On the first page of each PDF file is a note identifying the German National Library as the digitising institution and a persistent hyperlink which links the table of contents to the bibliographic metadata in the catalogue of the German National Library.

The catalogue enrichment service offers the following options:

  • ongoing subscription only for initial bibliographic cataloguing (new acquisition)
  • ongoing subscription only for retrospective catalogue enrichment
  • ongoing subscription for selected DDC subject categories
  • retrospective subscription for a defined period
  • retrospective subscription via ISBN selection (machine-readable delivery of ISBNs for requested titles is precondition for ISBN selection)

Catalogue enrichment service - Conditions

The bibliographic data are provided in the MARC 21 oder MARC21-XML format variants in UTF-8 decomposed code (PDF, 25KB, Not barrier-free file.) bereitgestellt.
The data are provided via an FTP or WWW server.
Ongoing subscriptions are invoiced quarterly.
For commercial use within an organisation's own database, the costs increase by a factor of 2. For commercial use including forwarding of the data to third parties, the costs increase by a factor of 3.
A usage agreement must be concluded to subscribe to this service.

Contact details

Contact
Monday - Friday from 9:00 to 15:00
Nicole von der HudeTel.: +49-69-1525-1632
Heike EichenauerTel.: +49-69-1525-1074
Angelika Cremer-ReiberTel.: +49-69-1525-1633

Last update: 7.8.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Kataloganreicherung

Im Rahmen der laufenden und retrospektiven Kataloganreicherung digitalisiert die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek die Inhaltsverzeichnisse (IHV / TOC) von aktuellen Büchern, Zeitschriften- und Loseblatt-Stücktiteln der Bibliografiereihen A, B und H. Die digitalisierten Inhaltsverzeichnisse ermöglichen den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern des Kataloges eine effiziente inhaltliche Bewertung der gewünschten Literatur, da die Inhaltsverzeichnisse bereits im Rahmen der Recherche zur Verfügung stehen. Ein fortlaufender Bezug der Metadaten ist über den Kataloganreicherungsdienst möglich. Die digitalisierten Inhaltsverzeichnisse werden unter "Creative Commons Zero"- Bedingungen (CC0 1.0) zur freien Nachnutzung angeboten und sind im Volltext durchsuchbar.

Seit 2008 digitalisiert die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek die Inhaltsverzeichnisse der in Deutschland neu veröffentlichten Bücher, Zeitschriften- und Loseblatt-Stücktitel des Verlagsbuchhandels (Reihe A der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie) und stellt diese über ihren Katalog bzw. die Datendienste weltweit zur Verfügung. Die Scanaktivitäten wurden sukzessive ausgebaut und systematisch sowohl im Bereich der Neuerwerbungen als auch retrospektiv auf den bereits archivierten Bibliotheksbestand ausgeweitet. Heute werden neben den Inhaltverzeichnissen von Büchern der Bibliografiereihe A auch die Inhaltsverzeichnisse der Publikationen die außerhalb des Verlagsbuchhandels (Reihe B) oder als Hochschulschrift (Reihe H) erscheinen fortlaufend gescannt. Auch die Inhaltsverzeichnisse der neu eingehenden Publikationen des Auslandes einschließlich der Germanica und Übersetzungen werden digitalisiert. Ausgenommen sind belletristische Werke, Schulbücher sowie Kinder- und Jugendliteratur.
Im Rahmen von retrospektiv angelegten Projekten werden jährlich rund 60.000 Inhaltsverzeichnisse aus dem älteren Bibliotheksbestand digitalisiert.
Zur Ergänzung des eigenen Bibliotheksbestandes konnte die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek rund 310.000 Inhaltsverzeichnisse von deutschen und österreichischen Bibliotheksverbünden übernehmen. Derzeit bietet die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek über eine Million durchsuchbare Inhaltsverzeichnisse an (Stand Dezember 2013). Jährlich kommen rund 100.000 Inhaltsverzeichnisse von Publikationen des Neuzugangs und etwa 60.000 Inhaltsverzeichnisse von Büchern der 1980er- und 1990er-Jahre hinzu.

Kostenfreier Gesamtabzug bis einschließlich Erscheinungsjahr 2012

Ein Gesamtabzug aller Titeldaten mit persistentem Hyperlink auf das digitalisierte, durchsuchbare Inhaltsverzeichnis bis einschließlich Erscheinungsjahr 2012 ist kostenfrei verfügbar. Eine Aktualisierung des Abzugs erfolgt jeweils im 1. Quartal eines Jahres. Die Titeldaten und die digitalisierten Inhaltsverzeichnisse werden unter "Creative Commons Zero"- Bedingungen (CC0 1.0) zur freien Nachnutzung angeboten.
Die Bereitstellung erfolgt in drei Paketen gegliedert nach Erscheinungszeitraum in den Formatvarianten MARC 21 oder MARC21-XML jeweils in der Kodierung UTF-8 decomposed (PDF, 33KB, Datei ist nicht barrierefrei) über WWW-Server:

  1. Paket: Bis Erscheinungsjahr 1899 (7.565 Datensätze)
  2. Paket: Erscheinungsjahre 1900 bis 1999 (462.596 Datensätze)
  3. Paket: Erscheinungsjahre 2000 bis 2012 (529.500 Datensätze)

Zugangsdaten

Für die jeweiligen Zugangsdaten wenden Sie sich bitte unter Angabe des gewünschten Formats per E-Mail an .

Kataloganreicherungsdienst

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek stellt fortlaufend Titeldaten für Neuerscheinungen von Büchern, Zeitschriften- und Loseblatt-Stücktiteln der Bibliografiereihen A, B und H mit persistentem Hyperlink auf das digitalisierte, durchsuchbare Inhaltsverzeichnis im Portable Document Format (PDF) bereit. Die Titeldaten werden nach den in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek geltenden Regeln für die Katalogisierung angesetzt und enthalten in der Regel noch keine Sacherschließungsdaten.
Die PDF-Dateien enthalten auf der ersten Seite einen Hinweis auf die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek als digitalisierende Institution sowie einen persistenten Hyperlink, der das Inhaltsverzeichnis mit den bibliografischen Metadaten im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek verbindet.

Der Kataloganreicherungsdienst bietet folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • fortlaufenden Bezug nur der bibliografischen Erstverzeichnung (Neuzugang)
  • fortlaufenden Bezug nur der retrospektiven Kataloganreicherung
  • fortlaufenden Bezug einzelner Sachgruppen
  • retrospektiven Bezug über einen definierten Zeitraum
  • retrospektiven Bezug per ISBN-Selektion (Voraussetzung für die Selektion nach ISBN ist die maschinenlesbare Anlieferung der ISBNs zu den gewünschten Titeln)

Konditionen Kataloganreicherungsdienst

Die Titeldaten werden in den Formatvarianten MARC 21 oder MARC21-XML jeweils in der Kodierung UTF-8 decomposed (PDF, 33KB, Datei ist nicht barrierefrei) bereitgestellt.
Die Bereitstellung der Datenkontingente erfolgt per FTP- oder WWW-Server.
Die Abrechnung erfolgt bei fortlaufendem aktuellem Bezug quartalsweise.
Bei gewerblicher Nutzung innerhalb der eigenen Datenbank erhöhen sich die Kosten um Faktor 2. Bei gewerblicher Nutzung mit Weitergabe der Daten an Dritte erhöhen sich die Kosten um Faktor 3.
Vor Bezugsbeginn des Dienstes ist der Abschluss eines Nutzungsvertrages erforderlich.

Ansprechpartner / Kontakt

Ansprechpartner
Montag - Freitag von 9 - 15 Uhr
Nicole von der HudeTel.: +49-69-1525-1632
Heike EichenauerTel.: +49-69-1525-1074
Angelika Cremer-ReiberTel.: +49-69-1525-1633

Letzte Änderung: 18.9.2014

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main