Navigation and service

Linked Data Service of the German National Library

Developments in the area of the Semantic Web are aimed at improving the usefulness and accessibility of data. The idea of the Semantic Web also allows links to be created between data from heterogeneous sources, leading in turn to the establishment of new services. As a result of the linked-data movement, many providers (mostly non-profit organisations, universities or public institutions) are already offering their data in a form which is Semantic-Web-compatible. Above all, this includes data which is of general use within the public domain. Examples include geographical information, thesauri, encyclopaedias as well as bibliographic and authority data.

Libraries, too, have recognised the great potential offered by this form of data publication. The first institutions are already actively offering their information as Linked Data, or are planning to do so. The German National Library is committed to making a significant contribution to ensuring the stability and reliability of the "Linked-Data-Cloud" by providing data which has largely been generated and maintained by trained professionals. The German National Library with its high quality data intends to become one of the mainstays of the Semantic Web.

In the long term the German National Library is planning to offer a Linked Data Service which will permit the Semantic Web community to use the entire stock of its national bibliographic data, including all authority data. A suitable data service needs to be created to distribute the new data format alongside the already established access channels (OAI, SRU etc.).

One of the aims of the service will be to attract new target groups and accordingly it is important for the project to analyse their requirements in detail, making contact with them in order to identify their precise needs. The proposal, therefore, is to launch a service which is based primarily on past experience and users requirements. The service described in this documentation is aimed at establishing an initial partnership with this new clientele as a means of sounding out each other's views. In the medium-term, the target groups will be expanded to include commercial service providers such as operators of search engines and knowledge management systems alongside research institutions and non-profit organisations. The German National Library is endeavouring to make a significant contribution to the global information infrastructure with its new data service by laying the foundations for modern commercial and non-commercial web services.

The German National Library collaborates with the Bibliographic Framework Transition Initiative.

The authority files of the German-speaking countries, Gemeinsame Normdatei (GND), and the bibliographic data in the Linked Data Service will fall under the Creative Commons Zero (CCO) license with immediate effect.
As of the end of January 2014 some geographical authority records contain unchanged coordinates from the database GeoNames.

The software metafacture is used to convert the data to RDF. Metafacture was developed by culturegraph.org.

Test data in RDF/XML representation are available for free in the catalogue of the German National Library under the menu item "Aktionen" or in the Data Shop.

Last update: 16.9.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Linked Data Service der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek

Die Entwicklungen im Bereich Semantic Web zielen darauf ab, semantische Strukturen nachnutzbar und Daten besser zugreifbar zu machen. Des Weiteren erlauben die Konzepte des Semantic Web, Daten aus heterogenen Quellen miteinander zu verknüpfen, was eine Etablierung neuer Dienstleistungen mit sich führt. Im Zuge der Linked-Data-Bewegung bieten bereits eine Vielzahl von Anbietern (meist gemeinnützige Organisationen, Universitäten oder öffentliche Einrichtungen) ihre Daten in einer Semantic-Web-konformen Repräsentation an. Zu diesen Daten gehören insbesondere Daten, die von generellem Nutzen für die Allgemeinheit sind. Beispiele hierfür sind geografische Informationen, Thesauri, Lexika und auch bibliografische Daten und Normdaten.

Auch das Bibliothekswesen hat erkannt, welches Potenzial diese Form der Datenveröffentlichung mit sich bringt. Erste Einrichtungen sind bereits aktiv bzw. planen, ihre Daten als Linked Data anzubieten. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek möchte mit ihren größtenteils intellektuell gepflegten Daten einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Stabilität und Zuverlässigkeit der "Linked-Data-Cloud" leisten. Mit ihren qualitativ hochwertigen Daten beabsichtigt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, eine der tragenden Säulen des semantischen Netzes zu werden.

Langfristig strebt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek einen Linked-Data-Service an, der eine Nutzung der gesamten nationalbibliografischen Daten inklusive aller Normdaten durch die Semantic-Web-Community erlaubt. Neben den etablierten Zugriffswegen (OAI, SRU etc.) muss für die Verbreitung des neuen Datenformates ein entsprechender Datendienst geschaffen werden.

Da der Service neue Zielgruppen ansprechen soll, gilt es in erster Linie, durch das Projekt die Anforderungen dieser näher zu analysieren und durch Kontakt mit den Nutzern deren Anforderungen zu konkretisieren. Folglich ist das Ziel die Inbetriebnahme eines Services, der durch Erfahrungswerte und Nutzerbedürfnisse entscheidend mitgestaltet wird. Der in dieser Dokumentation beschriebene Service dient somit einer ersten Kooperation mit dem neuen Kundenkreis, um den Erfahrungsaustausch anzustoßen. Mittelfristig zählen zu den Zielgruppen neben Forschungseinrichtungen und gemeinnützigen Organisationen auch kommerzielle Dienstleister, wie Betreiber von Suchmaschinen und Wissensmanagementsystemen. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ist bestrebt, durch den neuen Datenservice einen Beitrag zur Informationsinfrastruktur weltweit zu leisten und damit eine Voraussetzung für moderne kommerzielle und nicht-kommerzielle Webdienstleistungen anzubieten.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek beteiligt sich aktiv an der Bibliographic Framework Transition Initiative.

Für die Gemeinsame Normdatei (GND) und die Titeldaten des Linked-Data-Services gilt ab sofort die Nutzungslizenz Creative Commons Zero.
Seit Ende Januar 2014 enthalten einige geografische Normdaten unveränderte Koordinaten aus der Datenbank GeoNames.

Für die Konversion der Daten nach RDF wird die Software Metafacture eingesetzt, die von culturegraph.org entwickelt wurde.

Testdaten in RDF/XML-Repräsentation sind im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek unter dem Menüpunkt "Aktionen" in der Vollanzeige oder im Datenshop kostenfrei erhältlich.

Letzte Änderung: 16.9.2014

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main