Navigation and service

Metadata

Metadata are (structured) data describing a resource, an entity, an object, or other data. They are used to retrieve, use, and maintain a resource, an entity, etc. Depending on the community, the term metadata has different connotations. In the context of information science and libraries, it refers to data which are used to describe electronic resources. However, the trend is moving towards using the term metadata for data and catalogues in databases to describe non-electronic resources as well.

The German National Library has followed and actively participated in developments in the field of metadata from the beginning. In the project META-LIB (1998 - 2002), the aim was to develop guidelines for the application of metadata - especially of the Dublin Core Set - for the indexing of digital and digitised resources in scientific libraries. As part of the project, the German National Library developed and tested conventions for indexing of electronic resources with Dublin Core metadata, also taking into account authority data. After the end of the project in 2002, the German National Library integrated the work on metadata into the Office for Library Standards.

The German National Library became a KIM Project partner in October 2006. The aim of the project was to set up a competence centre for interoperable metadata (KIM - Kompetenzzentrum Interoperable Metadaten), intended to help improve knowledge about and skills in interoperable metadata, metadata exchange and formats within the German-speaking countries.

National and international co-operation

On a national level, the German National Library actively takes part in the co-operation of the regional legal deposit libraries in collecting, cataloguing, and archiving of online publications, and in the development of the German science portal Vascoda. By developing new standards such as XMetaDiss and LMER, the German National Library brings its competence in the field of metadata into the general development of applications. Together with archives and museums, solutions are developed to merge different metadata standards. The integration of metadata applications into the development of cataloguing rules is one of the next tasks. The German National Library will be providing input to the development work aimed at making the new RDA (Resource Description and Access) cataloguing standard semantic web-compliant by contributing its considerable experience and expertise in the field of rule sets and metadata.

Through its co-operation in national and international standardisation committees such as DIN, CEN, ISO and the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI), the ONIX International Steering Committee and the METS Editorial Board, the German National Library actively participates in the development of international metadata standards. Numerous proposals have been brought into the IFLA Working Group on Metadata. The German National Library also plays a leading role in standardisation work and development of The European Library, the portal of the European national libraries.

Last update: 11.05.2017

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Metadaten

Metadaten sind (strukturierte) Daten, die eine Ressource, eine Entität, ein Objekt oder andere Daten beschreiben. Sie können darüber hinaus dem Auffinden, der Verwendung sowie der Verwaltung einer Ressource, einer Entität etc. dienen. Der Begriff Metadaten wird in unterschiedlichen Kontexten verwendet. Im informationswissenschaftlichen und bibliothekarischen Kontext versteht man hierunter Daten, die der Beschreibung von elektronischen Ressourcen dienen. Der Trend geht jedoch dahin, den Begriff Metadaten auch für Daten und Kataloge in Datenbanken zu verwenden, die nicht-elektronische Ressourcen beschreiben.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek hat schon zu einem sehr frühen Zeitpunkt die Entwicklungen im Bereich Metadaten verfolgt und aktiv mitgestaltet.
Im Projekt META-LIB (1998 - 2002) war es Ziel, Richtlinien für den Einsatz von Metadaten, insbesondere des Dublin-Core-Sets, zur Erschließung digitaler und digitalisierter Ressourcen in wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken zu entwickeln. Das Teilprojekt der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek hatte dabei die Aufgabe, Konventionen zur nationalbibliografischen Erschließung elektronischer Ressourcen unter Verwendung von Dublin-Core-Metadaten und unter Einbeziehung von Normdaten zu entwickeln und zu erproben. Nach Abschluss des Projektes im Jahre 2002 führt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek den Arbeitsbereich Metadaten in der Arbeitsstelle für Standardisierung weiter. Seit Oktober 2006 ist die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek Projektpartner im Projekt KIM. Projektziel ist der Aufbau eines Kompetenzzentrums Interoperable Metadaten (KIM), das im deutschsprachigen Raum den Ausbau der Kompetenzen für die Themen interoperable Metadaten, Metadatenaustausch und Formate fördern soll.

Nationale und internationale Zusammenarbeit

Auf nationaler Ebene arbeitet die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek im Rahmen der Kooperation der regionalen Pflichtexemplarbibliotheken zur Sammlung, Erschließung und Archivierung von Netzpublikationen und bei der Entwicklung des deutschen Wissenschaftsportals vascoda mit. Durch die Entwicklung neuer Standards wie XMetaDiss und LMER bringt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ihre Fachkompetenz im Bereich Metadaten in die allgemeine Anwendungsentwicklung und -umsetzung ein. Gemeinsam mit Archiven und Museen werden Lösungen erarbeitet, um unterschiedliche Metadatenstandards zusammenzuführen. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek wird die Entwicklungsarbeiten des neuen Erschließungsstandards RDA (Resource Description and Access) zu einem Semantic-Web-konformen Standard inhaltlich begleiten und so ihre langjährige Erfahrung und Expertise im Bereich der Regelwerks- und Metadatenarbeit einbringen.

Durch die Mitarbeit in nationalen und internationalen Standardisierungsgremien (DIN, CEN, ISO), der Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI), dem ONIX International Steering Committee sowie dem METS Editorial Board beteiligt sich die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek aktiv an der Entwicklung international anerkannter Metadatenstandards. In die Arbeit der IFLA Working Group on Metadata sind zahlreiche Anregungen eingeflossen. Auch im Kontext von The European Library, dem Portal der Nationalbibliotheken Europas, ist die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek maßgeblich an Standardisierungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten beteiligt.

Letzte Änderung: 11.05.2017

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main