Navigation and service

"Mon Oncle. Klaus and Heinrich Mann" // Monacensia exhibition formerly on display in the Hildebrandhaus now in the German Exile Archive 1933–1945 // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Exhibition opening: Thursday, 16 August 2018, 19:00

begin 16.8.2018 7:00 PM
end 16.8.2018 8:00 PM

The exhibition "Mon Oncle. Klaus and Heinrich Mann" showcases the relationship between Heinrich Mann and his oldest nephew Klaus Mann.

It focuses on the life stories of two writers: Heinrich Mann (1871–1950), author of the novels "Professor Unrat" (Small Town Tyrant) and "Der Untertan" (Man of Straw), who during the years of the Weimar Republic became one of the most highly regarded artists in Germany; and Klaus Mann (1906–1949), who started his career as a literary enfant terrible in the 1920s. Both of them had to go into exile in the spring of 1933, after the Nazis rose to power. They were two of the most important representatives of the resistance movement, firstly in exile in Europe, and later in the USA. However, neither Klaus nor Heinrich Mann managed to return permanently to Europe during the years that followed 1945.

The exhibition documents the lives of Klaus and Heinrich Mann, who were always the anti-bourgeois, Bohemian element in the family. It also addresses the tense, complicated relationship both men had with Thomas Mann, their brother and father respectively. The family history of the Manns also reflects a pivotal chapter in the cultural and contemporary history of Germany.

The exhibition, which was first shown in the Monacensia library in the Hildebrandhaus, is now on display in the German Exile Archive 1933–1945.

Programme

Welcome: Ute Schwens, Director of the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main
Introduction: Dr. Uwe Naumann, Curator of the exhibition

Information und Contact

Date of event

Thursday, 16. August 2018, 19:00

Prices

Free admission

Booking

Booking: exilarchiv-veranstaltungen@dnb.de or call +49 69 1525 1961

Venue

Lecture hall at the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main.

Contact

Fruther information

Invitation for download

The exhibition will be open for viewing from 17 August to 15 December 2018

Guided tours

Last update: 17.7.2018

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Mon Oncle. Klaus und Heinrich Mann // Eine Ausstellung der Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus zu Gast im Deutschen Exilarchiv 1933–1945 // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Ausstellungseröffnung: Donnerstag, 16. August 2018, 19 Uhr

Anfang 16.8.2018 19:00 Uhr
Ende 16.8.2018 20:00 Uhr

Die Ausstellung "Mon Oncle. Klaus und Heinrich Mann" präsentiert die Beziehung zwischen Heinrich Mann und seinem ältesten Neffen Klaus Mann.

Gezeigt werden die Lebensgeschichten zweier Schriftsteller: Heinrich Mann (1871–1950), Autor der Romane "Professor Unrat" und "Der Untertan", der in den Jahren der Weimarer Republik zu einem der angesehensten Künstler in Deutschland wurde; und Klaus Mann (1906–1949), der seinen Weg als literarisches Enfant terrible in den Zwanzigerjahren begann. Im Frühjahr 1933, nach der Machtübergabe an die Nationalsozialisten, mussten beide ins Exil gehen. Dort gehörten sie zu den wichtigsten Repräsentanten der Hitler-Gegner, zunächst im europäischen Exil, später in den USA. Eine dauerhafte Rückkehr nach Europa in den Jahren nach 1945 gelang aber weder Klaus noch Heinrich Mann.

Dokumentiert werden die Lebenswege von Klaus und Heinrich Mann, die innerhalb der Familie stets für das Unbürgerliche, das Bohèmeleben standen. Die Ausstellung thematisiert auch die spannungsreiche, komplizierte Beziehung beider zu Thomas Mann, dem Bruder beziehungsweise dem Vater. Und sie spiegelt mit der Familiengeschichte der Manns zugleich ein zentrales Kapitel deutscher Kultur- und Zeitgeschichte.

Die Ausstellung, die zuerst in der Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus zu sehen war, ist nun zu Gast im Deutschen Exilarchiv 1933–1945.

(Bildnachweis: Foto Klaus Mann (Ausschnitt): Monacensia; Foto Heinrich Mann (Ausschnitt): Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach; Atelier Erna M. Kollstede, München)

Programm

Begrüßung: Ute Schwens, Direktorin der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek Frankfurt am Main
Einführung: Dr. Uwe Naumann, Kurator der Ausstellung

Information und Kontakt

Veranstaltungstermin

Donnerstag, 16. August 2018, 19 Uhr

Kosten

Eintritt frei

Anmeldung

Anmeldung direkt per Anmeldeformular oder Tel.: +49 69 1525 1961

Veranstaltungsort

Vortragssaal der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main

Kontakt

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung

Einladungskarte als Download

Die Ausstellung ist vom 17. August bis 15. Dezember 2018 zu sehen.

Kuratorenführungen

Letzte Änderung: 17.7.2018

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main