Navigation and service

"Die Stasi swingt nicht". Ein Jazzfan im Kalten Krieg ("The Secret Police don’t swing." A jazz fan during the Cold War) // Conversation and reading with Siegfried Schmidt-Joos // German Music Archive of the German National Library in Leipzig // Wednesday, 26 September 2018, 18:00

begin 26.9.2018 6:00 PM
end 26.9.2018 7:30 PM
Location Leipzig

Music journalist and author Siegfried Schmidt-Joos (born in 1936) caught the swing bug when he was still a teenager. While studying in Halle, he led a jazz working group for the FDJ youth movement. His enthralling report gives astonishing insights into social conditions during the two German dictatorships and the early days of the Federal Republic.

This event is intended not just to be a reading, but also an opportunity to enter into a dialogue with the author. Musical accompaniment will be provided by the trio “Just for Swing”, and the evening will be hosted by Detlef A. Ott.

The event is part of the Leipzig Herbst ‘89 (Leipzig Autumn ‘89) series, and the project is being run in cooperation with the publisher Mitteldeutsche Verlag and Saxony’s State Officer for the Reappraisal of the SED Dictatorship.

Information and contakt

Date of event

Wednesday, 26 September 2018, 18:00

Costs

4 Euro

Booking

Book directly using the booking form or call: +49 341 2271-223

Venue

Lecture room at the German National Library in Leipzig

Contact

Last update: 28.8.2018

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

"Die Stasi swingt nicht". Ein Jazzfan im Kalten Krieg // Gespräch und Lesung mit Siegfried Schmidt-Joos // Deutsches Musikarchiv der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // Mittwoch, 26. September 2018, 18 Uhr

Anfang 26.9.2018 18:00 Uhr
Ende 26.9.2018
Ort Leipzig

Musikjournalist und Autor Siegfried Schmidt-Joos (geboren 1936) war schon als Teenager mit dem Swing-Virus infiziert und leitete als Student in Halle eine Jazz-Arbeitsgemeinschaft in der FDJ. Sein packender Bericht vermittelt erstaunliche Einblicke in die gesellschaftlichen Zustände der zwei deutschen Diktaturen sowie der jungen Bundesrepublik.

Die Veranstaltung ist nicht nur als Lesung gedacht, sondern soll Raum geben, mit dem Autoren ins Gespräch zu kommen. Das Trio "Just for Swing" wird den Abend musikalisch begleiten; es moderiert Detlef A. Ott.

Die Veranstaltung findet im Rahmen des Veranstaltungsprogramms Leipzig Herbst '89 statt und ist eine Kooperation mit dem Mitteldeutschen Verlag und dem Sächsischen Landesbeauftragten zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur.

Information und Kontakt

Veranstaltungstermin

Mittwoch, 26. September 2018, 18 Uhr

Kosten

EUR 4,00

Anmeldung

Anmeldung direkt per Anmeldeformular oder Tel.: +49 341 2271-223

Veranstaltungsort

Vortragsraum der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig

Kontakt

Letzte Änderung: 28.8.2018

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main