Navigation and service

History

2013

The virtual exhibition "Arts in Exile" goes online in September. The German National Library is the first institution outside the Anglo-American world to become a member of the RDA Committee of Principals.

2012

The German National Library celebrates its centenary by staging over 100 events. The Federal Republic of Germany pays tribute to the German National Library by issuing a commemorative coin and stamp. The centenary magazine HUNDERT is released. The permanent exhibition of the German Museum of Books and Writing - "Signs - Books - Networks: From Cuneiform to Binary Code" – opens in March. The Integrated Authority File (GND) goes into routine operation.

2011

The annex building is to be opened in Leipzig on 9 May. The building houses stacks for the Library's holdings plus a reading room and exhibition space for the German Museum of Books and Writing (Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum). The German Music Archive (Deutsches Musikarchiv) new reading room in an inner courtyard of the historical building is also to be officially opened.
The German National Library is the first institution outside the Anglo-American world to be invited to join the Joint Steering Committee for Development of the RDA (JSC). The interests of the German-speaking library community will therefore be directly represented in the development of the Resource Description and Access (RDA) standard.

2010

From January the Deutsche Nationalbibliografie is issued as a free online journal. A new bibliographic series, Series O for online publications, is also introduced from January. The German Music Archive moves in December from Berlin to the Leipzig site.

2009

The topping-out ceremony of the 4th annex building of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig is celebrated in March. The German Museum of Books and Writing celebrates its 125th anniversary with a public function. From the middle of the year the catalogue enrichment service is first provided monthly, and then from September, weekly. The updated collection guidelines are published in the summer.

2008

As of January the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek is using its new logo, completing the alteration process which began with the change of name. Michael Fernau becomes director and permanent deputy of the director general in Leipzig.
In October the Legal Deposit Regulation came into force, replacing the previous Regulation of 1982.

2007

The cut of the spade in the autumn represents the start of the construction work for the 4 th annex building of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig. It is scheduled for completion in 2010. The building work will involve the construction of new stacks, reading rooms and offices for the German Music Archive. This will move from Berlin to Leipzig once the work is complete.

2006

The "Law regarding the German National Library" came into force on 29 June. The expansion of the collection brief to include online publications set the course for collecting, cataloguing and storing such publications as part of Germany's cultural heritage. The Library's highest management body, the Administrative Council, was expanded to include two MPs from the Bundestag. The law also changed the name of the library and its buildings in Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main and Berlin into "Deutsche Nationalbibliothek".

2004

The Federal Commissioner for Cultural and Media Affairs initiates the amendment of the "Law regarding the Deutsche Bibliothek". The German National Bibliography is online: At http://dnb.d-nb.de, anyone can conduct research free of charge via public networks in the database of Die Deutsche Bibliothek. It catalogues the library's stocks and so fulfils the legal commission of Die Deutsche Bibliothek with regard to bibliographic cataloguing. From the bibliography year 2004 onwards Die Deutsche Bibliothek has classified the various series of the German National Bibliography as well as the New Release Service according to subject groups based on the two highest levels of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system.

2003

The New Release Service, which appears outside the series of the German National Bibliography and was developed in the context of an expanded co-operation with the MVB Marketing und Verlagsservice des Buchhandels GmbH, replaces the CIP service of Die Deutsche Bibliothek from January 2003. The latter had been published since 1974 as Series N (CIP) of the German National Bibliography. The project begun in 2002 to introduce a controlling system and a controlling organisation is completed. As a result the conceptual foundations for introducing controlling in Die Deutsche Bibliothek are established.

2002

Die Deutsche Bibliothek and the German Publishers and Booksellers Association (Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels) conclude a framework agreement for the voluntary surrender of network publications for the purpose of cataloguing and archiving. The Börsenverein hands over to Die Deutsche Bibliothek the stocks of its Library and its Historical Archive. In the architectural competition for the urgently needed 4th extension of Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig, the design "Inhalt-Hülle-Umschlag" / "Content-Cover-Wrapping" of Stuttgart-based architect Gabriele Glöckler receive first place.

2001

Birgit Schneider becomes director and permanent deputy director general of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. The Co-ordination Agency DissOnline is established at Die Deutsche Bibliothek.

2000

On 1 June Die Deutsche Bibliothek takes over the functional work of the department for standard cataloguing from the German Library Institute. The newly founded Office for Library Standards is an organisational unit of Die Deutsche Bibliothek. The Society for Musical Performing and Mechanical Reproduction Rights (Gesellschaft für musikalische Aufführungs- und mechanische Vervielfältigungsrechte, GEMA) decides on the German Music Archive Berlin as the collection location for its notes. The entire stock of the GEMA archive of 210,000 notes is handed over to the German Music Archive Berlin.

1999

Dr. Elisabeth Niggemann becomes director general of Die Deutsche Bibliothek. Ute Schwens becomes director and permanent deputy of the director general in Frankfurt am Main.

1998

The Zentrum für Bucherhaltung (Centre for Book Preservation) in Leipzig is hived off as a private enterprise.

1997

The Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main moves into its new building. On 14 May the new building is officially inaugurated.

1996

Irmgard Spencker becomes permanent deputy of the director general of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig.

1994

The large-scale technical facility for mass deacidification and the mechanised paper splitting machine go into operation in the Centre for Book Preservation of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. On 13 September the topping-out ceremony for the new building of the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main takes place.

1992

On 23 June the Anne-Frank-Shoah-Bibliothek of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig is officially presented to the public and opened for use.

1992-2005

In the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig building measures are carried out to preserve the substance of the building.

1991

The Music Information Centre of the Association of Composers and Music Scholars of the GDR was absorbed by the German Music Archive Berlin. On 3 January the first issue of the joint "German National Bibliography" appears.

1990

With the unification of Germany on 3 October, the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig and the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main are merged in the new institution Die Deutsche Bibliothek. The director general is Professor Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. The permanent deputy of the director general in Frankfurt am Main is Kurt Nowak, in Leipzig Dr. Gottfried Rost.

1988 Frankfurt am Main

Professor Klaus-Dieter Lehmann becomes director general of the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main. The Deutsche Bibliographie appears on CD-ROM for the first time.

1986 Leipzig

The function as a regional centre for conservation and restoration of the IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions) is assigned to the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig's restoration workshop. The latter had been set up in 1964 and in the meantime considerably expanded.

1985 Leipzig

The Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig begins with the work assigned to it as the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) agency of the GDR.

1982 Leipzig

Inauguration of the newly erected storage tower of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. The library has an overall collection of 4.3 million books.

1982 Frankfurt am Main

"Decree on the legal deposit of printed works to the Deutsche Bibliothek" of 14 December (amended version).

1978 Berlin

Movement of the German Music Archive Berlin into the Correns mansion in the Gärtnerstraße ("Siemens Villa").

1977 Leipzig

In the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig the national ISSN agency (International Standard Serial Number) of the GDR is set up.

1976 Frankfurt am Main

Professor Dr. Günther Pflug becomes director general of the Deutsche Bibliothek.

1973 Frankfurt am Main

First decree on the legal deposit of music notes and music records to the German Music Archive of the Deutsche Bibliothek ("1. Pflichtstückverordnung Musik") of 6 June. The Deutsche Bibliothek becomes the national centre in the international ISDS network (International Serials Data System).

1971 Leipzig

The Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig begins to produce the German National Bibliography with the aid of EDP.

1970 Leipzig

The Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig is assigned the function of "Central co-ordinating institution for bibliography and bibliographical work in the GDR".

1970 Berlin

On 1 January the German Music Archive Berlin is established in Berlin in accordance with the statutory mandate as a department of the Deutsche Bibliothek. Charge is taken of the collections of the Deutsche Musik-Phonothek and its activities are continued.

1969 Frankfurt am Main

The Bundestag approves the "Law regarding the Deutsche Bibliothek" and thus its establishment as a federal corporation under public law. The Federal Republic of Germany becomes its sole source of support. The Deutsche Bibliothek is identified as the central archive library of the Federal Republic of Germany. The surrender of legal deposit compulsory copies for the first time receives a federal legal foundation.

1966 Frankfurt am Main

The Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main begins to compile its bibliographies with the aid of EDP.

1964 Leipzig

The German Paper Museum in Greiz is incorporated into the Deutsche Bücherei and is assigned to the German Museum of Books and Writing.

1963 Frankfurt am Main

The Börsenverein decides that members who surrender no copies to the Deutsche Bibliothek in violation of the obligation under the articles of association are to be expelled from the Börsenverein.

1961 Leipzig

The deputy of the principal director and director of the department of acquisitions and access, Helmut Rötzsch, is appointed principal director (from 1964 director general) of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. He holds this position until 1990.

1959 Leipzig

The board of the Börsenverein der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig bequeaths the residual stock of the former library of the association to the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. It is assigned to the German Museum of Books and Writing.

1959 Frankfurt am Main

Move to the new building on the Zeppelinallee. The collection comprises around 480,000 units. Professor Dr. Kurt Köster becomes director of the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main.

1955 Leipzig

The legal deposit of printed matter in the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig is regulated for the GDR by a directive. Curt Fleischhack, director of the bibliographic department, is appointed principal director of the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig.

1952 Frankfurt am Main

The Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main becomes a foundation under public law according to Hessian foundation law. The founders are the Federal State of Hesse and the City of Frankfurt am Main. The Federal Republic of Germany and the German Publishers and Booksellers Association participate in the foundation. All four provide support.

1950 Leipzig

The German Museum of Books and Writing is incorporated as a department in the Deutsche Bücherei.

1947 Frankfurt am Main

The Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main becomes in legal terms an institution of the book trade and of the City of Frankfurt am Main. Professor Hanns Wilhelm Eppelsheimer, director of the Frankfurt University Library, becomes the first director of the Deutsche Bibliothek. The book stock comprises around 14,000 units.

1946

The "German National Bibliography" is once again published in Leipzig. Dr. Georg Kurt Schauer, Heinrich Cobet, Vittorio Klostermann and Professor Hanns Wilhelm Eppelsheimer, director of the Frankfurt University Library since 1 January, initiate the re-foundation of a German archive library based in Frankfurt am Main. The federal state representatives of the book trade in the American zone agree to the proposal. The city of Frankfurt agrees to support the planned archive library with personnel and financial resources. The US military government gives its approval. On 4 November the library is officially given the name "Deutsche Bibliothek". The Deutsche Bibliothek begins its work in the tobacco room of the former Rothschild library in the Untermainkai 15, which serves the bombed university library as accommodation. The copy deadline for the first issue of the "Bibliography of the Deutsche Bibliothek, Frankfurt am Main" is 12 December. As a result there are two libraries in Germany, which assume the duties and function of a national library for the later GDR and the Federal Republic of Germany, respectively. Two national bibliographic catalogues appear, which are almost identical in content.

1945

In November the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig is re-opened. With the division of Germany into four zones, the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig loses its position as the sole central archive library. In the western zones of Germany, efforts to rebuild book trading and library institutions soon centre on Frankfurt am Main.

1944

After the air raids on Leipzig (1943) and fire damage to the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig, the building is closed for use from January onwards. Around 1.6 million books are removed.

1942

The collection principles are extended (retrospectively from 1941) to translations of German works into foreign languages, foreign language works on Germany (Germanica), sheet music (from 1943) and works of graphic art.

1940

With the "Law regarding the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig" the library is removed from the custody of the Börsenverein. It becomes an incorporated institution under public law.

1937

The restrictive measures of the Reich Ministry for Public Enlightenment and Propaganda lead to separate listing of so-called undesirable literature, which from 1939 to 1944 appears as the "List of documents in the Deutsche Bücherei kept under lock and key".

1935

A directive of the Reich Chamber of Culture obliges the associations, publishers and individuals subject to it to surrender their documents to the Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig. The processing of the "Annual index of German university publications" is assigned to the library.

1933

The Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig, which until then had belonged to the Reich Ministry of Interior, is made subordinate to the Reich Ministry for Public Enlightenment and Propaganda. NSDAP offices are introduced to monitor measures for enforced cultural and spiritual conformity.

1931

For the first time the German National Bibliography appears in the series A (new publications of the book trade) and B (new publications outside the book trade). The processing of the "Semi-annual index of new publications of the German book trade" and the "German index of books" is taken on.

1924

Dr. Heinrich Uhlendahl, previously library councillor of the general administration of the Prussian State Library in Berlin, assumes the direction of the Deutsche Bücherei till his death in 1954.

1921

The Börsenverein der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig transfers to the Deutsche Bücherei the processing of the "Daily index of new publications" and the "Weekly index of new and prepared publications of the book trade".

1917

Professor Dr. Georg Minde-Pouet assumes the direction of the Deutsche Bücherei and carries on its expansion until 1923 despite extreme economic difficulties.

1916

Built in the war years 1914 to 1916, the Deutsche Bücherei is erected according to the plans of Oskar Pusch and under the building direction of Karl Schmidt and Karl Julius Baer. The building is formally inaugurated on 2 September.

1913

Dr. Gustav Wahl is appointed director. He decisively guides the building construction and organisation of the collections until 1916.

1912

The City of Leipzig, the centre of the book and publishing trades in the German Reich, the Kingdom of Saxony and the Börsenverein der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig conclude an agreement on the foundation of the Deutsche Bücherei based in Leipzig. The task of the Deutsche Bücherei from 1 January 1913 on is to collect, catalogue bibliographically and make available for use free of charge German and foreign-language literature published in Germany and German-language literature published abroad.

Last update: 22.04.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Geschichte

2015

Ab Juli sind alle Titeldaten der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek und die Normdaten der Gemeinsamen Normdatei (GND) unter CC0 1.0 frei verfügbar. Ab 1. Oktober wird an der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek nach dem neuen Standard Resource Description and Access (RDA) erschlossen. Der Lizensierungsservice Vergriffene Werke startet.

2013

Im September wird die virtuelle Ausstellung "Künste im Exil" freigeschaltet. Als erste Institution außerhalb des anglo-amerikanischen Raums wird die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek Mitglied des RDA-Committee of Principals.

2012

Mit 100 Veranstaltungen feiert die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ihr 100-jähriges Bestehen. Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland würdigt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek mit einer Gedenkmünze und einer Sonderbriefmarke. Das Jubiläumsmagazin HUNDERT erscheint. Im März wird die Dauerausstellung des Deutschen Buch- und Schriftmuseums "Zeichen – Bücher – Netze: Von der Keilschrift zum Binärcode" eröffnet. Die Gemeinsame Normdatei (GND) geht in den Regelbetrieb über.

2011

Am 9. Mai wird in Leipzig der Erweiterungsbau eröffnet. Das Gebäude bietet Magazine für die Bestände der Bibliothek sowie einen Lesesaal und Ausstellungsflächen für das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum. Der neue Lesesaal für Deutsche Musikarchiv in einem Innenhof des historischen Gebäudes wird ebenfalls eingeweiht.
Als erste Institution aus dem nicht anglo-amerikanischen Raum ist die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek als neues Mitglied ins Joint Steering Committee for Development of RDA (JSC) eingeladen worden. Die Interessen der deutschsprachigen bibliothekarischen Fachcommunity fließen damit direkt in die Entwicklung des Standards Resource Description and Access (RDA) ein.

2010

Ab Januar wird die Deutsche Nationalbibliografie als kostenfreie Online-Zeitschrift angeboten. Ebenfalls im Januar wird eine neue Bibliografie-Reihe, die Reihe O für Online-Publikationen, eingeführt. Im Dezember zieht das Deutsche Musikarchiv von Berlin an den Standort Leipzig um.

2009

Im März wird auf dem 4. Erweiterungsbau der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig Richtfest gefeiert. Das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum begeht seinen 125. Geburtstag mit einer öffentlichen Festveranstaltung. Ab Mitte des Jahres wird der Kataloganreicherungsdienst zunächst monatlich, ab September wöchentlich ausgeliefert. Im Sommer werden die aktualisierten Sammelrichtlinien veröffentlicht.

2008

Im Januar tritt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek mit ihrem neuen Logo auf und schließt damit die Anpassungsarbeiten durch die Namensänderung ab. Michael Fernau wird Direktor und Ständiger Vertreter der Generaldirektorin in Leipzig.
Im Oktober erlässt die Bundeskanzlerin die Pflichtablieferungsverordnung, die die bisherige Pflichtstückverordnung ablöst.

2007

Mit dem ersten Spatenstich im Herbst beginnen die Bauarbeiten für den 4. Erweiterungsbau der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig. Die Fertigstellung ist für 2010 geplant. Im Zuge der Baumaßnahmen entstehen auch neue Magazine, Lesesaal- und Büroflächen für das Deutsche Musikarchiv. Es wird nach Abschluss der Arbeiten von Berlin nach Leipzig umziehen.

2006

Am 29. Juni tritt das neue "Gesetz über die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek" in Kraft. Mit der Erweiterung des Sammelauftrags um Netzpublikationen werden die Weichen für das Sammeln, Verzeichnen und Bewahren auch dieser Publikationsformen als Teil des kulturellen Erbes Deutschlands gestellt. Das höchste Steuerungsgremium der Bibliothek, der Verwaltungsrat, wird um zwei Abgeordnete des Deutschen Bundestages erweitert. Das Gesetz benennt die Bibliothek mit ihren Häusern in Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main und Berlin in Deutsche Nationalbibliothek um.

2004

Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien initiiert die Novellierung des "Gesetzes über die Deutsche Bibliothek". Die Deutsche Nationalbibliografie ist online: Unter http://dnb.ddb.de kann jedermann über öffentliche Netze kostenfrei in der Datenbank Der Deutschen Bibliothek recherchieren. Sie verzeichnet den Bibliotheksbestand und erfüllt somit den gesetzlichen Auftrag Der Deutschen Bibliothek zur bibliografischen Verzeichnung. Die Deutsche Bibliothek gliedert ab Bibliografie-Jahrgang 2004 die verschiedenen Reihen der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie sowie den Neuerscheinungsdienst nach Sachgruppen, die auf den beiden obersten Ebenen der Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation (DDC) beruhen.

2003

Der im Rahmen einer erweiterten Kooperation mit der MVB Marketing- und Verlagsservice des Buchhandels GmbH entwickelte Neuerscheinungsdienst, der außerhalb der Reihen der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie erscheint, löst ab Januar 2003 den CIP-Dienst Der Deutschen Bibliothek ab, der seit 1974 als Reihe N (CIP) der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie herausgegeben worden war. Das bereits 2002 begonnene Projekt zur Einführung eines Controlling-Systems und einer Controlling-Organisation wird abgeschlossen. Die konzeptionellen Grundlagen zur Einführung von Controlling in Der Deutschen Bibliothek sind somit geschaffen.

2002

Die Deutsche Bibliothek und der Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e. V. schließen eine "Rahmenvereinbarung zur freiwilligen Ablieferung von Netzpublikationen zum Zwecke der Verzeichnung und Archivierung". Der Börsenverein übergibt Der Deutschen Bibliothek die Bestände seiner Bibliothek und seines Historischen Archivs. Beim Architekturwettbewerb für den dringend benötigten 4. Erweiterungsbau der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig erreicht der Entwurf "Inhalt-Hülle-Umschlag" der Stuttgarter Architektin Gabriele Glöckler den ersten Platz.

2001

Birgit Schneider wird Direktorin und Ständige Vertreterin der Generaldirektorin in der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig. Die Koordinierungsstelle DissOnline wird an Der Deutschen Bibliothek eingerichtet.

2000

Am 1. Juni 2000 übernimmt Die Deutsche Bibliothek die Sacharbeit der Arbeitsstelle für Regelwerksarbeit vom Deutschen Bibliotheksinstitut. Die neu gegründete Arbeitsstelle für Standardisierung ist eine Organisationseinheit Der Deutschen Bibliothek. Die Gesellschaft für musikalische Aufführungs- und mechanische Vervielfältigungsrechte (GEMA) bestimmt im Juli 2000 das Deutsche Musikarchiv zum Sammlungsort ihrer Noten. Der Gesamtbestand des GEMA-Archivs von 210.000 Noten wird dem Deutschen Musikarchiv übergeben.

1999

Dr. Elisabeth Niggemann wird Generaldirektorin Der Deutschen Bibliothek. Ute Schwens wird Direktorin und Ständige Vertreterin der Generaldirektorin in Frankfurt am Main.

1998

Das Zentrum für Bucherhaltung wird als Wirtschaftsbetrieb in Leipzig ausgegründet.

1997

Die Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main zieht in ihr neues Gebäude um. Am 14. Mai wird der Neubau offiziell eingeweiht.

1996

Irmgard Spencker wird Ständige Vertreterin des Generaldirektors in der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig.

1994

Die großtechnische Anlage zur Massenentsäuerung und die mechanisierte Papierspaltmaschine nehmen im Zentrum für Bucherhaltung der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig ihren Betrieb auf. Am 13. September findet das Richtfest für das neue Gebäude der Deutschen Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main statt.

1992

Am 23. Juni wird die Anne-Frank-Shoah-Bibliothek der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt und zur Nutzung freigegeben.

1992-2005

In der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig werden Baumaßnahmen zur Substanzerhaltung und Sanierung durchgeführt.

1991

Am 3. Januar erscheint das erste Heft der gemeinsamen "Deutschen Nationalbibliographie". Das Musikinformationszentrum des Verbandes der Komponisten und Musikwissenschaftler der DDR wird in das Deutsche Musikarchiv Berlin integriert.

1990

Mit der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands am 3. Oktober werden Deutsche Bücherei und Deutsche Bibliothek zu der neuen Institution Die Deutsche Bibliothek zusammengefasst. Generaldirektor ist Professor Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. Der Ständige Vertreter des Generaldirektors in Frankfurt am Main ist Kurt Nowak, in Leipzig Dr. Gottfried Rost.

1988 Frankfurt am Main

Professor Klaus-Dieter Lehmann wird Generaldirektor der Deutschen Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main. Die Deutsche Bibliographie erscheint erstmals auf CD-ROM.

1986 Leipzig

Der 1964 eingerichteten und inzwischen bedeutend erweiterten Restaurierungswerkstatt der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig wird die Funktion eines Regionalen Zentrums für Konservierung und Restaurierung der IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions) übertragen.

1985 Leipzig

Die Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig beginnt mit der ihr übertragenen Arbeit als ISBN-Agentur (International Standard Book Number) der DDR.

1982 Leipzig

Einweihung des neu errichteten Magazinturmes der Deutschen Bücherei. Die Bibliothek hat einen Gesamtbestand von 4,3 Millionen Bänden.

1982 Frankfurt am Main

"Verordnung über die Pflichtablieferung von Druckwerken an die Deutsche Bibliothek" vom 14. Dezember (Neufassung).

1978 Berlin

Umzug des Deutschen Musikarchivs in das Herrenhaus Correns in der Gärtnerstraße ("Siemens-Villa").

1977 Leipzig

In der Deutschen Bücherei wird die nationale ISSN-Agentur (International Standard Serial Number) der DDR eingerichtet.

1976 Frankfurt am Main

Professor Dr. Günther Pflug wird Generaldirektor der Deutschen Bibliothek.

1973 Frankfurt am Main

Erste Verordnung über die Pflichtablieferung von Musiknoten und Musikschallplatten an das Deutsche Musikarchiv der Deutschen Bibliothek (1. Pflichtstückverordnung Musik) vom 6. Juni. Die Deutsche Bibliothek wird nationales Zentrum im internationalen ISDS-Netz (International Serials Data System).

1971 Leipzig

Die Deutsche Bücherei beginnt, die Deutsche Nationalbibliographie mit Hilfe der EDV herzustellen.

1970 Leipzig

Der Deutschen Bücherei wird durch den Bibliotheksverband die Funktion der "Leit- und Koordinierungseinrichtung für Bibliographie und bibliographische Arbeit in der DDR" übertragen.

1970 Berlin

In Berlin wird gemäß gesetzlichem Auftrag am 1. Januar das Deutsche Musikarchiv als Abteilung der Deutschen Bibliothek gegründet, wobei die Bestände der Deutschen Musik-Phonothek übernommen und deren Tätigkeiten fortgesetzt werden.

1969 Frankfurt am Main

Der Bundestag beschließt das "Gesetz über die Deutsche Bibliothek" und damit die Errichtung als rechtsfähige bundesunmittelbare Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts. Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland wird alleiniger Unterhaltsträger. Die Deutsche Bibliothek wird zur zentralen Archivbibliothek der Bundesrepublik Deutschland bestimmt. Die Ablieferung von Pflichtexemplaren erhält erstmals eine bundesgesetzliche Rechtsgrundlage.

1966 Frankfurt am Main

Die Deutsche Bibliothek beginnt, ihre Bibliografien mit Hilfe der EDV zu erstellen.

1964 Leipzig

Das Deutsche Papiermuseum in Greiz wird der Deutschen Bücherei eingegliedert und der Abteilung Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum zugeordnet.

1963 Frankfurt am Main

Der Börsenverein bestimmt, dass Mitglieder, die entgegen der satzungsmäßigen Verpflichtung keine Exemplare an die Deutsche Bibliothek abliefern, aus dem Börsenverein auszuschließen sind.

1961 Leipzig

Der Stellvertreter des Hauptdirektors und Direktor der Abteilung Beschaffung und Zugang, Helmut Rötzsch, wird zum Hauptdirektor (ab 1964 Generaldirektor) der Deutschen Bücherei berufen. Er hat dieses Amt bis 1990 inne.

1959 Leipzig

Der Vorstand des Börsenvereins der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig überlässt der Deutschen Bücherei die Restbestände der ehemaligen Bibliothek des Börsenvereins. Sie werden der Abteilung Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum zugeordnet.

1959 Frankfurt am Main


Umzug in den Neubau an der Zeppelinallee. Die Bestände umfassen rund 480.000 Einheiten. Professor Dr. Kurt Köster wird Direktor der Deutschen Bibliothek.

1955 Leipzig

Die Pflichtablieferung von Druckerzeugnissen an die Deutsche Bücherei wird für die DDR durch eine Anordnung geregelt. Curt Fleischhack, Direktor der Bibliografischen Abteilung, wird zum Hauptdirektor der Deutschen Bücherei berufen.

1952 Frankfurt am Main

Die Deutsche Bibliothek wird eine Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts nach hessischem Stiftungsrecht. Stifter sind das Land Hessen und die Stadt Frankfurt am Main. An der Stiftung beteiligen sich die Bundesrepublik Deutschland und der Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels. Alle vier sind Unterhaltsträger.

1950 Leipzig

Das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum wird der Deutschen Bücherei als Abteilung eingegliedert.

1947 Frankfurt am Main

Die Deutsche Bibliothek wird juristisch eine Einrichtung des Buchhandels und der Stadt Frankfurt am Main. Professor Hanns Wilhelm Eppelsheimer, Direktor der Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek, wird erster Direktor der Deutschen Bibliothek. Der Bücherbestand beträgt rund 14.000 Einheiten.

1946

Die "Deutsche Nationalbibliographie" erscheint wieder in Leipzig. Dr. Georg Kurt Schauer, Heinrich Cobet, Vittorio Klostermann und Professor Hanns Wilhelm Eppelsheimer, der seit dem 1. Januar Direktor der Frankfurter Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek ist, initiieren die Neugründung einer deutschen Archivbibliothek mit Sitz in Frankfurt am Main. Dem Vorschlag schließen sich die Landesvertreter des Buchhandels in der amerikanischen Zone an. Die Stadt Frankfurt sagt zu, die geplante Archivbibliothek mit personellen und finanziellen Mitteln zu unterstützen. Die amerikanische Militärregierung gibt ihre Zustimmung. Die Bibliothek erhält am 4. November offiziell den Namen "Deutsche Bibliothek". Im Tabakzimmer der ehemaligen Rothschildschen Bibliothek am Untermainkai 15, die der ausgebombten Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek als Unterkunft dient, nimmt die Deutsche Bibliothek ihre Arbeit auf. Redaktionsschluss für das erste Heft der "Bibliographie der Deutschen Bibliothek, Frankfurt am Main" ist der 12. Dezember. Damit existieren im geteilten Deutschland zwei Bibliotheken, die Aufgabenstellung und Funktion einer Nationalbibliothek für die spätere DDR und die Bundesrepublik Deutschland übernehmen. Es erscheinen zwei nationalbibliografische Verzeichnisse, die inhaltlich nahezu identisch sind.

1945

Im November wird die Deutsche Bücherei wieder eröffnet. Mit der Teilung Deutschlands in vier Besatzungszonen verliert die Deutsche Bücherei ihre Position als zentrale Archivbibliothek. In den Westzonen Deutschlands konzentrieren sich die Bemühungen um den Wiederaufbau buchhändlerischer und bibliothekarischer Institutionen bald auf Frankfurt am Main.

1944

Nach den Luftangriffen auf Leipzig (1943) und Brandschäden an der Deutschen Bücherei wird das Haus ab Januar für die Benutzung geschlossen. Rund 1,6 Millionen Bände werden ausgelagert.

1942

Die Sammelgrundsätze werden (rückwirkend ab 1941) auf Übersetzungen deutscher Werke in fremde Sprachen, fremdsprachige Werke über Deutschland (Germanica), Musikalien (ab 1943) und Kunstblätter erweitert.

1940

Mit dem "Gesetz über die Deutsche Bücherei Leipzig" wird die Bibliothek aus der Obhut des Börsenvereins entlassen. Sie wird zu einer rechtsfähigen Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts.

1937

Die restriktiven Maßnahmen des Reichsministeriums für Volksaufklärung und Propaganda führen zur separaten Anzeige der so genannten unerwünschten Literatur, die von 1939 bis 1944 als "Liste der in der Deutschen Bücherei unter Verschluss gestellten Druckschriften" erscheint.

1935

Eine Anordnung der Reichskulturkammer verpflichtet die ihr unterstellten Verbände, Verlage und Einzelpersonen zur Abgabe ihrer Schriften an die Deutsche Bücherei. Die Bearbeitung des "Jahresverzeichnisses der deutschen Hochschulschriften" wird der Bibliothek übertragen.

1933

Die Deutsche Bücherei, die bis dahin zum Reichsministerium des Innern gehört, wird dem Reichsministerium für Volksaufklärung und Propaganda unterstellt. Dienststellen der NSDAP halten Einzug, um die Maßnahmen zur kulturellen und geistigen Gleichschaltung zu überwachen.

1931

Erstmals erscheint die "Deutsche Nationalbibliographie" in den Reihen A (Neuerscheinungen des Buchhandels) und B (Neuerscheinungen außerhalb des Buchhandels). Die Bearbeitung des "Halbjahresverzeichnisses der Neuerscheinungen des Deutschen Buchhandels" und des "Deutschen Bücherverzeichnisses" wird übernommen.

1924

Dr. Heinrich Uhlendahl, bisher Bibliotheksrat in der Generalverwaltung der Preußischen Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, übernimmt die Leitung der Deutschen Bücherei bis zu seinem Tode 1954.

1921

Der Börsenverein der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig überträgt der Deutschen Bücherei die Bearbeitung des "Täglichen Verzeichnisses der Neuerscheinungen" und des "Wöchentlichen Verzeichnisses der erschienenen und der vorbereiteten Neuigkeiten des Buchhandels".

1917

Professor Dr. Georg Minde-Pouet übernimmt die Leitung der Deutschen Bücherei und betreibt trotz extremer wirtschaftlicher Schwierigkeiten ihren inneren Ausbau bis 1923.

1916

Erbaut in den Kriegsjahren 1914 bis 1916 entsteht nach den Entwürfen von Oskar Pusch und unter der Bauleitung von Karl Schmidt und Karl Julius Baer die Deutsche Bücherei, deren Gebäude am 2. September feierlich eingeweiht wird.

1913

Zum Direktor wird Dr. Gustav Wahl berufen, der den Bau des Hauses und die Organisation der Sammlungen bis 1916 maßgeblich begleitet.

1912

Die Stadt Leipzig, Mittelpunkt des Buch- und Verlagswesens im Deutschen Reich, das Königreich Sachsen und der Börsenverein der Deutschen Buchhändler zu Leipzig schließen einen Vertrag über die Gründung der Deutschen Bücherei mit Sitz in Leipzig. Aufgabe der Deutschen Bücherei ist, die gesamte vom 1. Januar 1913 an erscheinende deutsche und fremdsprachige Literatur des Inlandes und deutschsprachige Literatur des Auslandes zu sammeln, bibliografisch zu verzeichnen und unentgeltlich für die Benutzung zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Letzte Änderung: 02.03.2016

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main