Navigation and service

Using the ISSN

Using ISSNs in print publications

  • Journals
    Please print the ISSN in the same prominent position (and, if possible, on the imprint page) on the outside cover of each issue, volume, year, etc., preceded by the letters "ISSN" in accordance with the following example: ISSN 1234-5678.
    Please note: The last digit is a check digit; it is represented as an "X" if it has the numerical value of 10.
    The typography is up to you.
  • Series (book series), journal-like series (annuals), annual reports, etc.
    For these publications, the ISSN appears either alone, in combination with an ISBN and/or with an additional ISSN, as follows:
    ISSN alone
    In this case, print the ISSN on the outer cover (but not on the dust jacket) and/or on the imprint page.
    ISSN and ISBN
    In this case, print the ISSN (for the series) combined with (i.e. in close proximity to) the ISBN (of the respective volume) according to the following example:
    ISSN 0936-1138
    ISBN 978-3-494-00373-3
  • ISSN for printed and online edition
    If a publication is released in a printed and online edition, we recommend including both numbers in each case. A note can be added on the publication form (print or online), as shown in the following example:
    ISSN (Print) 0936-1138
    ISSN (Online) 2567-7225

Using ISSNs in non-print publications

In online publications, please quote the ISSN on the title or publication details page.

In publications on physical media such as CD-ROMs or DVDs, please quote the ISSN on the DVD/CD-ROM. As explained above regarding print publications, the numbers should as a rule appear in the same prominent position for each issue, volume, year, etc.

Recommendations of the U.S. National Information Standards Organization (NISO) on the structure of the imprint of online publications

Is the same ISSN really always assigned to the issues of a journal, series, etc.?

In contrast to ISBNs, which change from book to book, a new ISSN is only necessary if the title of the journal changes. That means that an ISSN actually remains unchanged in many cases, but this is not a hard-and-fast rule. Please inform us in good time of any planned title change and quote the new ISSN issued by us in the next edition under the new name.

A new ISSN, however, is not required due to changes of publisher, imprint or frequency of publication.

Why have an ISSN at all if the publication already has an ISBN?

The purpose of the ISSN is to clearly identify serial publications such as journals or series as a complete entity; in contrast, the ISBN serves as a unique designation of a single issue. In the case of book series, series of supplements, annuals, annual reports, etc., each individual volume can of course receive a unique ISBN if it has the character of a monograph or is available individually. However, the entire series within which such volumes are published can be given an ISSN. This is why publications frequently have both an ISBN and an ISSN.

Further Information

Last update: 30.10.2017

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Die Angabe der ISSN

Angabe der ISSN bei Printpublikationen

  • Zeitschriften
    Bitte drucken Sie die ISSN in jedem Heft, Band, Jahrgang usw. an gleicher Stelle und gut sichtbar auf dem äußeren Umschlag (sowie, falls möglich, auf der Impressumsseite) mit den vorangestellten Buchstaben "ISSN" nach folgendem Beispiel ein: ISSN 1234-5678.
    Achtung! Die letzte Ziffer ist eine Prüfziffer; sie wird durch ein "X" wiedergegeben, wenn ihr rechnerischer Wert 10 beträgt.
    Die Typografie bleibt weitgehend Ihnen überlassen.
  • Schriftenreihen (Buchserien), zeitschriftenartige Reihen (Jahrbücher), Jahresberichte usw.
    Bei diesen Publikationen kommt die ISSN teils allein, teils in Verbindung mit einer ISBN und/oder weiteren ISSN, wie folgt vor:
    ISSN allein
    In diesem Fall drucken Sie bitte die ISSN auf dem äußeren Umschlag (nicht jedoch auf dem Schutzumschlag) und/oder auf der Impressumsseite ein.
    ISSN und ISBN
    In diesem Fall drucken Sie bitte die ISSN (für die Reihe) zusammen mit, d. h. räumlich nah bei der ISBN (des jeweiligen Bandes) nach folgendem Beispiel ein:
    ISSN 1234-5678
    ISBN 3-494-00373-4
  • ISSN für Print- und Online-Ausgabe
    Erscheint eine Publikation als Print- und Online-Ausgabe, so empfehlen wir, grundsätzlich jeweils beide Nummern aufzuführen. Sie können diese mit dem Vermerk der Erscheinungsform (Print bzw. Online) wie im folgenden Beispiel angeben:
    ISSN (Print) 1234-5678
    ISSN (Online) 2345-6789

Angabe der ISSN bei Non-Print-Publikationen

Bei Netzpublikationen nennen Sie die ISSN bitte auf einer internen Quelle, z. B. auf dem Titel- oder Impressumsbildschirm. Bei Publikationen auf physischen Datenträgern, wie z. B. CD-ROMs oder DVDs ist die Nennung der ISSN ebenfalls möglich. Grundsätzlich sollten die Nummern, wie schon bei Print-Publikationen erläutert, in jedem Heft, Band, Jahrgang usw. an gleicher Stelle und gut sichtbar erscheinen.

Empfehlungen der US-amerikanischen National Information Standards Organization (NISO) zur Gestaltung des Impressums einer Netzpublikation

Wird in den Heften einer Zeitschrift, Serie usw. wirklich immer dieselbe ISSN angegeben?

Im Gegensatz zur ISBN, die ja von Buch zu Buch wechselt, wird eine neue ISSN nur dann erforderlich, wenn sich der Titel der betreffenden Zeitschrift deutlich ändert. Daraus folgt, dass eine ISSN tatsächlich in vielen Fällen, aber eben nicht grundsätzlich, unverändert bleibt. Bitte teilen Sie uns jede geplante Titeländerung rechtzeitig mit und geben Sie die von uns daraufhin neu vergebene ISSN in der ersten Ausgabe, die den neuen Titel trägt, an.
Änderungen des Verlages, Impressums und der Erscheinungsweise machen dagegen keine neue ISSN erforderlich.

Wozu überhaupt eine ISSN, wenn schon eine ISBN vorhanden ist?

Die ISSN hat den Zweck, fortlaufend veröffentlichte Publikationen wie Zeitschriften oder Reihen jeweils in ihrer Gesamtheit eindeutig zu identifizieren; die ISBN dagegen dient der unverwechselbaren Kennzeichnung eines einzelnen Buches. Im Falle von Buchserien, Beiheftreihen, Jahrbüchern, Jahresberichten usw. kann nun selbstverständlich jeder einzelne Band, sofern er monografischen Charakter hat oder einzeln beziehbar ist, eine ISBN erhalten. Die gesamte Reihe jedoch, innerhalb derer solche Bände veröffentlicht werden, muss eine ISSN bekommen. So erklärt sich, warum Publikationen häufiger durchaus eine ISBN wie auch eine ISSN haben können.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung: 20.11.2013

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main