Navigation and service

National ISSN Centre for Germany - Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

What is the ISSN?

The ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) is an internationally binding standard code, the sole purpose of which is to identify, concisely and uniquely, periodically issued publications - regardless of the language, script, citation form, publishing house, country of publication etc. It contains no information on the content, e.g. regarding the publisher or the country of publication. The ISSN is an eight-figure number consisting of the (Arabic) numerals 0 - 9. It is identified by the prefix "ISSN". The last digit is a check digit and can also be an "X" (e.g. ISSN 0176-6996, ISSN 1430-855X).

What are the advantages of ISSNs?

The ISSN facilitates the administration of serial publications in publishing houses, agencies, book shops and libraries. The ISSN is also very helpful in title searches, as it constitutes a globally unique identifier for a particular publication. The ISSN can make sales channels more efficient and more profitable through the use of barcodes and EDI (Electronic Data Interchange); the same applies for the internal administration of publications. When an ISSN is issued, the publication is recorded along with the bibliographic details in the Deutsche Nationalbibliografie, in the German Union Catalogue of Serials (ZDB) and in the international ISSN portal. This permits free global dissemination of the relevant publication details.

Which publications can obtain an ISSN?

An ISSN can be issued for every publication covered by the collection mandate of the German National Library

  • periodically (regularly or irregularly)
  • under a permanent title
  • with no predetermined end
  • in printed or other form (e.g. DVD, online publication).

How can I obtain an ISSN for a work that I have already published?

Title not submitted to the German National Library under the legal deposit regulation

Check first whether your publication is a serial publication. Send the documents necessary for issuing the ISSN together with an informal letter to the National ISSN Centre for Germany (). In the case of online publications, the activated URL should be given.
These documents do not take the place of the legal deposit submission to the German National Library.

Title already submitted to the German National Library under the legal deposit regulation.

Check in the Portal of the German National Library whether an ISSN has already been assigned to the title. If this is not the case, you can apply for an ISSN following the instructions above. It is sufficient, however, to point out that the title has already been submitted to the German National Library.

Are ISSNs also issued to online publications?

Yes. You can also obtain an ISSN for an online publication assuming it is a serial publication which carries a number or date. An application can normally only be submitted for an ISSN for online publications once they have been published in the net. Please include the activated URL in your application.

ISSNs may only be issued to online publications which

  • correspond to the guidelines for ISSN assignment.
    Based on the resolution of the ISSN Directors Conference, no ISSNs are issued for certain types of online publication (e.g. mailing lists, websites containing presentations of individual companies' goods and services which are only relevant for customers, purely private websites).
  • fulfil the criteria of the legal deposit regulation and the collection guidelines for online publications of the German National Library.

Can blogs, too, be assigned ISSNs?

Blogs can be given an ISSN if they have an academic / informative orientation and comply with the collection guidelines of the German National Library.

Please note that ISSNs can only be assigned to blogs which meet the above criteria.

If you are not sure whether your blog meets these criteria, send us the URL and we will be happy to review it for you.

Once a blog has been assigned an ISSN, it is listed in the catalogue of the German National Library and in the international ISSN portal. This renders the blog quotable.

When are new ISSNs assigned?

A new ISSN is issued if the title of the publication changes. This also applies for amalgamations (combining of at least two publications) or splits (separation into at least two new publications) of a title. Title changes are defined in the "ISSN Manual". A new ISSN is also required if the publication changes its medium, e.g. from a printed to an online publication.
The ISSN is not altered in the event of the following changes: change of publisher, change of place of publication, change of frequency of publication (e.g. from weekly to monthly).

A separate ISSN is also issued for

  • supplements
  • numbered inserts
  • other editions (e.g. in other languages)
  • serial special editions of a journal.

Can an ISSN be applied for even before the first edition of a new title is released?

Yes. We offer large customers the possible to apply for an ISSN in advance, i.e. before the release of the publication. Please note that, for individual applicants, we can only issue an ISSN after a publication has been released. Publishers of print publications should also send us the necessary documentation by e-mail. Applications for pre-assignment should not be made more than six months before the planned release of a publication.

Is a new ISSN required for each issue of a publication?

No, because the ISSN identifies the entire series of the serial publication. A new ISSN is only required if there is change to the title or the form of the publication.

Are different ISSNs issued for different media versions of a publication?

Generally, editions which are issued simultaneously in different media (print, online, electronic publications on physical data carriers such as CD-ROMs) are assigned their own ISSN, even though they share the same title. The ISSN of an online edition applies for all data formats in which the electronic publication is issued, assuming there is no change in the title.

What is the ISSN-L?

Different ISSNs are issued if a publication appears under the same title in different media versions (print, online, CD-ROM).
The ISSN-L (ISSN-Linking) is the superordinate ISSN which applies for all media versions of the same title. It is generated automatically by the International ISSN Centre. The ISSN-L makes it easier to manage different media versions of the same title.
Example:
"Aktuelle Rheumatologie"
ISSN-L 0341-051X
ISSN of print edition 0341-051X
ISSN of online edition 1438-9940

Further information

Where and in what form should the ISSN be printed?

See Using the ISSN

What does the ISSN convey?

In contrast to the ISBN (for monographs) which contains content-based information about e.g. the publisher or the country of publication, the ISSN is simply an identification number; it carries no information about the content.

What is the difference between the ISSN and the ISBN?

ISSNs are assigned to serial publications. ISBNs are issued to monographs (books). An ISSN can be issued to a series as a whole; ISBNs can then be issued additionally to the individual volumes in the series.

ISSNs are issued by a network of national ISSN centres, as each serial publication needs to be uniquely identified to distinguish it from identical or similar titles published elsewhere in the world.

The ISBN system has a different structure. An identifying ISBN prefix is assigned to each publisher. The publisher is given a quota of ISBNs, which it can then assign to its publications successively. In Germany, MVB Marketing- und Verlagsservice des Buchhandels GmbH, Frankfurt am Main is responsible for issuing ISBNs.

Is a record kept of all the ISSNs issued in the world?

Yes. All assigned ISSNs are recorded together with key bibliographical information in the ISSN database which is managed by the International ISSN Centre.
The "ISSN Portal" database can be accessed from the ISSN International Centre, Paris, on the World Wide Web. Please contact the following e-mail address: .

Is there a national ISSN centre in my country?

The National ISSN Centre for Germany is responsible for the Federal Republic of Germany:

German National Library
National ISSN-Centre for Germany
Adickesallee 1
60322 Frankfurt
Tel. + 49-69-1525-1481
Fax + 49-69-1525-1414
E-Mail: issn@dnb.de

A list of all ISSN centres can be found on the homepage of the International ISSN Centre, Paris.

Are ISSNs mandatory?

ISSNs are not mandatory in Germany. In some countries, all serial publications subject to the deposit copy law must be given an ISSN. Publishers are obliged to print the ISSN in every issue.

How much does an ISSN assignment cost?

ISSNs are issued free of charge in Germany.

Can the ISSN be used as part of the barcode?

Yes, the ISSN is used as the Global Trade Item Number (GTIN - formerly EAN) component, the most important retail barcode symbol commonly used around the world. Further information can be obtained from GS1 Germany, Cologne.

Does the publication receive copyright/title protection once an ISSN has been issued?

No, copyright/title protection is not linked to assignment of the ISSN. Different publications may have the same or similar titles. However, in some countries reproduction rights agencies use ISSNs in their system management to determine copyright payments and fees for copied articles.

Does the issue of an ISSN represent a statement on the quality of the content of a serial publication?

Before an ISSN is issued, the only aspect which is checked is whether the publication meets the formal criteria for a serial publication set out in the ISSN definitions. The content is not checked, nor is the quality of the articles or contributions in the serial publication evaluated.

Where can I see whether an ISSN has been issued for my publication?

Since December 2016 the German National Library has automatically issued ISSNs to numerous publications upon their being submitted under the legal deposit regulation. Before applying for an ISSN it is possible to check in the portal of the German National Library whether an ISSN has already been assigned to a publication. If this is not the case, ISSN assignment can be applied for informally by e-mail.

Last update: 30.10.2017

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Nationales ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland - häufig gestellte Fragen (FAQ)

Was ist die ISSN?

Die ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) ist eine international verbindliche Standardnummer und dient einzig - unabhängig von Sprache, Schrift, Zitierform, Erscheinungsweise, Verlag, Erscheinungsland u. a. - der kurzen unverwechselbaren Identifikation von fortlaufend erscheinenden Publikationen. Sie enthält keine inhaltlichen Informationen, wie z.B. über den Verleger oder das Erscheinungsland. Die ISSN ist eine achtstellige Zahl, die aus den (arabischen) Ziffern 0 - 9 gebildet wird. Sie wird durch die vorangestellten Buchstaben ISSN gekennzeichnet. Die letzte Ziffer ist eine Prüfziffer und kann auch ein "X" sein (z. B. ISSN 0176-6996, ISSN 1430-855X).

Welche Vorteile bietet die ISSN?

Die ISSN erleichtert die automatisierte Verwaltung von fortlaufenden Publikationen in Verlagen, Agenturen, Buchhandlungen und Bibliotheken. Auch bei der Titelrecherche ist die ISSN hilfreich, da sie einen weltweit eindeutigen Identifier für diese Publikation darstellt. Die ISSN kann Vertriebswege durch den Gebrauch von Barcodes und EDI (Electronic Data Interchange) schneller und wirtschaftlicher gestalten; dies gilt ebenso für die interne Verwaltung von Publikationen. Bei der Zuteilung einer ISSN wird die Publikation mit den bibliografischen Angaben in der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie, in der Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB) und im internationalen ISSN-Portal erfasst. Dies ermöglicht eine kostenfreie Verbreitung der Informationen über die jeweilige Publikation weltweit.

Es kann eine ISSN für jede Publikation im Rahmen des Sammelauftrages der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek vergeben werden

• die regelmäßig oder unregelmäßig
• fortlaufend unter einem gleich bleibenden Titel
• ohne geplanten Abschluss
• in gedruckter oder anderer Form (z. B. DVD, Netzpublikation)

erscheint.

Wie kann ich eine ISSN für meine Publikation(en) erhalten?

Prüfen Sie zuerst, ob es sich bei Ihrer Publikation um ein fortlaufend erscheinendes Werk handelt. Senden Sie die für die ISSN-Vergabe notwendigen Unterlagen (aktuelles Exemplar oder bei Vorauszuteilung die Dateien der Umschlag- bzw. Titelseite und des Impressums) mit einem formlosen Anschreiben an das Nationale ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland (). Bei Netzpublikationen ist die freigeschaltete URL anzugeben.
Diese Unterlagen ersetzen nicht die Pflichtabgabe an die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek.

Werden ISSN auch für Netzpublikationen vergeben?

Ja. Sie können eine ISSN auch für eine Netzpublikationen erhalten, vorausgesetzt, es handelt sich um einen fortlaufend erscheinenden Titel, der nummeriert oder datiert veröffentlicht wird. Grundsätzlich kann eine ISSN für Netzpublikationen erst nach der Veröffentlichung im Netz beantragt werden. Bitte fügen Sie Ihrem Antrag die freigeschaltete URL bei.

Es können Netzpublikationen mit einer ISSN versehen werden, die

  • den internationalen Richtlinien für die ISSN-Zuteilung entsprechen.
    Danach werden gemäß Beschluss der ISSN-Direktoren-Konferenz für bestimmte Arten von Netzpublikationen keine ISSN zugeteilt (z. B. Mailinglisten, Webseiten mit Darstellungen der Dienstleistungen und Angebote einzelner Unternehmen für Kunden, rein private Webseiten).
  • die Kriterien der Pflichtablieferungsverordnung und der Sammelrichtlinien für Netzpublikationen der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek erfüllen

    • und in gewerblichen Verlagen erscheinen
    • oder von Universitäten oder wissenschaftlichen Institutionen verlegt werden
    • oder die von Herausgebern publiziert werden, die bereits mit der ISSN arbeiten.

Wann wird eine neue ISSN zugeteilt?

Wenn sich der Titel einer Publikation ändert, wird eine neue ISSN vergeben. Dies gilt auch bei der Fusion (Zusammenschluss von mindestens zwei Publikationen) oder dem Split (Aufteilung in mindestens zwei neue Publikationen) eines Titels. Eine Titeländerung wird durch das "ISSN Manual" definiert. Eine neue ISSN ist auch erforderlich, wenn sich die Erscheinungsform der Publikation ändert, z.B. von Print- zu Netzpublikation.
Keine Änderung der ISSN erfolgt bei: Verlagswechsel, Verlagsortwechsel, Veränderung der Erscheinungsweise (z. B. wöchentlich zu monatlich).

Eine eigenständige ISSN wird auch zugeteilt bei

  • Supplementen
  • gezählten Beilagen
  • anderen Ausgaben (z. B. Sprachausgaben)
  • Sonderausgaben einer Zeitschrift, wenn sie häufiger als dreimal erscheinen.

Kann eine ISSN bereits vor dem Erscheinen der ersten Ausgabe eines neuen Titels beantragt werden?

Ja, unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann eine ISSN auch schon vor Erscheinen der ersten Ausgabe einer Veröffentlichung beantragt werden. Verleger von Printpublikationen senden uns dazu bitte die notwendigen Unterlagen (Titelblatt- und Impressumsentwurf) mit einem kurzen Anschreiben zu. Ein Antrag auf Vorauszuteilung sollte grundsätzlich nicht früher als sechs Monate vor dem geplanten Erscheinen einer Publikation gestellt werden. Für Veröffentlichungen, die außerhalb des Buchhandels erscheinen, vergeben wir grundsätzlich keine ISSN vor Erscheinen einer Publikation.

Bei Netzpublikationen ist eine ISSN-Vorauszuteilung im Allgemeinen nicht möglich.

Wird für jede Nummer einer Publikation eine neue ISSN benötigt?

Nein, denn die ISSN ist dem Titel der fortlaufenden Publikation zugeordnet. Eine Änderung der ISSN ist nur dann erforderlich, wenn sich der Titel oder die Erscheinungsform der Publikation ändert.

Werden verschiedene ISSN für verschiedene Medienausgaben einer Publikation vergeben?

In der Regel erhalten Ausgaben in verschiedenen Medienformen (Print, Netzpublikationen, elektronische Veröffentlichungen auf physischen Datenträgern, z. B. CD-ROMs) auch bei identischen Titeln eigene ISSN unter der Voraussetzung, dass sie zeitgleich erscheinen. Die ISSN einer Online-Ausgabe gilt für alle Formate, in denen die elektronische Publikation erscheint, sofern der Titel nicht variiert.

Was ist die ISSN-L?

Erscheint eine Publikation unter dem gleichen Titel in verschiedenen Medienausgaben (Print, Netzpublikation, CD-ROM) dann werden unterschiedliche ISSN vergeben.
Die ISSN-L (ISSN-Linking) ist die übergeordnete ISSN, die für alle Medienausgaben des gleichen Titels gilt. Sie wird vom Internationalen ISSN-Zentrum automatisch erstellt. Durch die ISSN-L ist es möglich, verschiedene Medienausgaben des gleichen Titels einfacher zu verwalten.
Beispiel:
Aktuelle Rheumatologie
ISSN-L 0341-051X
ISSN der Printausgabe 0341-051X
ISSN der Internetausgabe 1438-9940

Weiterführende Informationen

Wo und wie wird die ISSN angegeben?

Die bevorzugte Stelle für den Eindruck der ISSN ist in der Nähe des Titels, auf der Titelseite oder der Umschlagseite. Eine andere geeignete Stelle ist das Impressum. Der ISSN sollten immer die Buchstaben "ISSN" vorausgehen. Grundsätzlich sollten die ISSN in jedem Heft, Band, Jahrgang usw. an gleicher Stelle und gut sichtbar erscheinen.
Bei elektronischen Veröffentlichungen auf physischen Datenträgern (z. B. CD-ROMs) sollte die ISSN nach Möglichkeit auch auf einer internen Quelle genannt werden, z. B. auf der Titel- oder Impressumsseite. Bei Netzpublikationen nennen Sie die ISSN bitte auf dem Titel- oder auf dem Impressumsbildschirm.

Empfehlungen der US-amerikanischen National Information Standards Organization (NISO) zur Gestaltung des Impressums einer Netzpublikation

Was sagt die ISSN aus?

Im Gegensatz zur ISBN (für Monografien), die inhaltliche Informationen u. a. über den Verleger oder das Erscheinungsland enthält, ist die ISSN eine Identifikationsnummer ohne inhaltliche Bedeutung. Die ISSN ist zugleich fest mit dem Titel der Veröffentlichung (Key title) verbunden und bleibt diesem so lange zugeordnet, wie er unverändert erscheint.

Worin besteht der Unterschied zwischen ISSN und ISBN?

ISSN werden für fortlaufend erscheinende Veröffentlichungen vergeben. ISBN werden für Monografien (Bücher) vergeben. Eine ISSN kann für eine Schriftenreihe als solche vergeben werden; für die einzelnen Bände dieser Reihe kann zusätzlich jeweils eine ISBN vergeben werden.

ISSN werden in einem Netzwerk von nationalen ISSN-Zentren vergeben, da jede fortlaufend erscheinende Veröffentlichung eindeutig identifiziert und von anderen auf der Welt erscheinenden identischen oder ähnlichen Titeln unterschieden werden muss. .

Das ISBN-System ist anders aufgebaut. Jedem Verleger wird ein ISBN-Präfix zugeordnet, das den Verlag identifiziert. Er erhält ein Kontingent von ISBN, die er seinen Publikationen selbst der Reihe nach zuordnet. Zuständig für die Vergabe der ISBN ist in Deutschland die MVB Marketing- und Verlagsservice des Buchhandels GmbH, Frankfurt am Main.

Gibt es einen Nachweis aller weltweit vergebenen ISSN?

Ja. Alle zugeteilten ISSN werden zusammen mit wichtigen bibliografischen Informationen in der ISSN-Datenbank nachgewiesen, die vom Internationalen ISSN-Zentrum betreut wird.
Die Datenbank "ISSN Portal" ist über das World Wide Web beim ISSN International Centre, Paris über einen kostenpflichtigen Zugang verfügbar. Bitte wenden Sie sich an folgende E-Mail-Adresse:

Gibt es in meinem Land ein nationales ISSN-Zentrum?

Für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist das
Nationale ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland zuständig:

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
Nationales ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland
Adickesallee 1
60322 Frankfurt
Tel. + 49-69-1525-1481
Fax + 49-69-1525-1414
E-Mail:

Eine Übersicht aller ISSN-Zentren finden Sie auf der Homepage des Internationalen ISSN-Zentrums, Paris.

Ist die ISSN obligatorisch?

In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist die ISSN nicht obligatorisch. In einigen Ländern müssen alle fortlaufend erscheinenden Publikationen, die unter das Pflichtexemplarrecht fallen, mit einer ISSN gekennzeichnet sein. Die Verleger sind verpflichtet die ISSN in jeder Ausgabe einzudrucken.

Welche Kosten entstehen bei der ISSN-Vergabe?

Die Vergabe der ISSN ist kostenfrei.

Kann die ISSN als Bestandteil des Barcodes genutzt werden?

Ja, die ISSN wird als Bestandteil GTIN, Global Trade Item Number (ehemals EAN) genutzt, des wichtigsten Barcodesymbols, welches im Vertrieb weltweit gebräuchlich ist. Nähere Informationen dazu erhalten Sie bei der GS1 Germany, Köln.

Erhält der Titel einer Publikation Copyright/Titelschutz, wenn eine ISSN vergeben wird?

Nein, mit der Zuteilung der ISSN ist kein Copyright/Titelschutz verbunden. Verschiedene Publikationen können gleiche oder ähnliche Titel haben. ISSN werden aber in einigen Ländern von Agenturen für Vervielfältigungsrechte für das Management ihrer Systeme genutzt, um Copyrightzahlungen und Gebühren für kopierte Artikel zu erfassen.

Ist mit der Zuteilung einer ISSN eine Aussage über die inhaltliche Qualität eines fortlaufenden Sammelwerks verbunden?

Bei der Zuteilung einer ISSN wird ausschließlich geprüft, ob die Publikation den formalen Kriterien eines fortlaufenden Sammelwerks nach den ISSN-Definitionen entspricht und eine ISSN zugeteilt werden kann. Es findet dabei keine inhaltliche Prüfung oder Bewertung der Qualität der in einem fortlaufenden Sammelwerk veröffentlichten Artikel oder Beiträge statt. Daher wird durch die Zuteilung einer ISSN keine Aussage über die inhaltliche Qualität einer Publikation getroffen.

Letzte Änderung: 20.11.2013

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main