Navigation and service

German Union Catalogue of Serials (ZDB)

The German Union Catalogue of Serials is the world’s largest dedicated database for serials of all kinds, particularly journals and newspapers. As a service and competence centre for serials, the ZDB provides data and services centrally and is thus the basis for a variety of information and services provided by the library networks and individual libraries in the German-speaking world. It currently contains more than 1.8 million bibliographic records for publications in all languages from the 16th century onwards and more than 15.6 million holding records of around 3,700 German and Austrian libraries.

The responsibility for operation and further development of the ZDB lies jointly with the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz and the German National Library as equal partners. The ZDB can be accessed online.

he German National Library has been a ZDB partner since 1 March 2007 and enters the cataloguing data of all new journals and serials directly into the ZDB. In the “Further development of the ZDB as steering and research instrument for newspaper digitisation projects and for newspapers” project a new ZDB web catalogue was created.

Last update: 27.09.2017

Short-URL: http://www.dnb.de/EN/zdb

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)

Die Zeitschriftendatenbank stellt eine der weltweit größten Datenbanken für fortlaufende Sammelwerke aller Art dar, allen voran für Zeitschriften und Zeitungen. Als Service- und Kompetenz-Zentrum für fortlaufende Sammelwerke stellt sie an zentraler Stelle Daten und Dienste bereit und bildet damit die Grundlage für vielfältige Angebote und Services der bibliothekarischen Verbünde und Bibliotheken im deutschen Sprachraum. Die ZDB umfasst zurzeit mehr als 1,8 Mio. Titel in allen Sprachen von ca. 1500 bis zur Gegenwart und weist zu diesen Titeln mehr als 15,6 Mio. Bestandsinformationen von ca. 4.400 deutschen und österreichischen Bibliotheken nach.

Die Verantwortung für den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung der ZDB tragen die Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz und die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek als gleichberechtigte Partner gemeinsam. Die ZDB ist online verfügbar.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek ist seit dem 1. März 2007 ZDB-Teilnehmer und katalogisiert alle neuen Zeitschriften und Schriftenreihen direkt in der ZDB. In dem gemeinsamen Projekt „Weiterentwicklung der Zeitschriftendatenbank zum Steuerungs- und Nachweisinstrument für Zeitungsdigitalisierungsprojekte und für Zeitungen“ wird ein neuer Webkatalog für die ZDB aufgebaut.

Letzte Änderung: 24.07.2017

Kurz-URL: http://www.dnb.de/zdb

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main