Navigation and service

PETRUS - Process-supporting software for the digital German National Library

Aim

The aim of the PETRUS (Process-supporting software for the digital German National Library) project was to provide an introduction to the use of machine-based cataloguing processes. The German National Library is looking to reduce its traditional indexing operations in areas which are no longer feasible due to the continually growing number of publications, or are no longer necessary because of technological developments. The purposes of software-supported cataloguing methods are to handle the increasing number of cataloguing tasks, to overcome gaps and inconsistencies in the bibliographic documentation systems, to further consolidate cataloguing of the media and to reduce processing times.

The PETRUS project created the basis for a modular, software-supported cataloguing system. Automated cataloguing modules were developed and implemented for four specific scenarios of descriptive and subject cataloguing of online publications. Software tools from the fields of data and text analysis, computer linguistics, machine learning and information retrieval were used to generate new metadata for searching and indexing from bibliographic data and machine-readable publications (full text documents or digitised tables of content, for example). Workflows, data structures and quality requirements were adapted as well.

The bibliographic records of parallel editions of a publication have automatically been linked since March 2011. Parallel editions are e.g. online and print versions of the same work. Publication-independent bibliographic information such as subject classifications and subject headings or references to the Integrated Authority File are reciprocally exchanged.

All personal names transfered into the bibliographic record as phrases from external sources have automatically been linked to the standardised entries in the Integrated Authority File since the middle of 2011. If the personal name already exists, then the bibliographic record is directly linked, otherwise a new authority record is first created.

The roughly one hundred DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification) subject classes for German and English monographs of the bibliography series O have been automatically issued since January 2012. The classification models were created in advance by machine learning methods using manually catalogued publications.

Subject headings are also to be issued automatically to German online publications using the controlled vocabulary of the Integrated Authority File in the future. Work is still continuing on this process for subject indexing.

The German National Library is continuing this initiative beyond the end of the project. New application scenarios are gradually being developed and further types of media included in the automated cataloguing processes.

Project duration

2009 - 2011

Last update: 19.3.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

PETRUS - Prozessunterstützende Software für die digitale Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

Ziel

Ziel des Projektes PETRUS (Prozessunterstützende Software für die digitale Deutsche Nationalbibliothek) war der Einstieg in die Nutzung maschineller Erschließungsverfahren. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek will ihre traditionellen Erschließungsleistungen dort reduzieren, wo sie in Anbetracht der kontinuierlich anwachsenden Publikationsmengen nicht mehr leistbar oder aufgrund technologischer Entwicklungen nicht mehr erforderlich sind. Softwaregestützte Erschließungsmethoden sollen dazu beitragen, die zunehmenden Erschließungsaufgaben besser zu bewältigen, Lücken und Brüche in den bibliografischen Nachweissystemen zu überwinden, die Erschließung der Medien weiter zu vertiefen und die Bearbeitungszeiten zu reduzieren.

Im PETRUS-Projekt wurden die Grundlagen für ein modular zusammengestelltes, softwaregestütztes Erschließungssystem geschaffen. Für vier ausgewählte Szenarien der formalen und inhaltlichen Erschließung von Netzpublikationen wurden maschinelle Erschließungsmodule entwickelt und implementiert. Softwarelösungen aus den Bereichen Daten- und Textanalyse, Computerlinguistik, maschinelles Lernen und Information Retrieval werden genutzt, um aus Titeldaten und maschinenlesbaren Texten (beispielsweise Volltexte oder digitalisierte Inhaltsverzeichnisse) neue Metadaten für die Suche und Verzeichnung zu generieren. Auch Arbeitsabläufe, Datenstrukturen und Qualitätsanforderungen wurden angepasst.

Seit März 2011 werden die Datensätze von parallelen Ausgaben einer Publikation automatisch miteinander verknüpft. Materialartunabhängige Informationen wie Inhaltserschließungsdaten und Normdatenverknüpfungen elektronischer und gedruckter Publikationen werden wechselseitig ausgetauscht.

Alle als Phrase aus Fremdaten in die Titeldaten übernommenen Personennamen werden seit Mitte 2011 automatisch mit den standardisierten Ansetzungen in der Gemeinsamen Normdatei verknüpft. Ist der Personenname bereits vorhanden, dann wird der Titeldatensatz direkt verknüpft; ansonsten wird zunächst automatisch ein neuer Normdatensatz angelegt.

Seit Januar 2012 werden die etwa hundert DDC-Sachgruppen für deutsch- und englischsprachige Monografien der Bibliografie-Reihe O maschinell vergeben. Die Modelle für die Klassifikation wurden zuvor über ein maschinelles Training mit intellektuell erschlossenen Publikationen erlernt.

Auch die Beschlagwortung deutschsprachiger Netzpublikationen mit dem kontrollierten Vokabular der Gemeinsamen Normdatei soll künftig maschinell durchgeführt werden. An diesem Verfahren für die verbale Erschließung wird zurzeit noch gearbeitet.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek setzt diese Initiative auch über das Projektende hinaus fort. Schrittweise werden weiterhin neue Anwendungsszenarien entwickelt und weitere Medienarten in die automatischen Erschließungsprozesse mit einbezogen.

Projektdauer

2009 - 2011

Letzte Änderung: 19.3.2014

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main