Navigation and service

ARROW - Accessible Registries of Rights Information and Orphan Works towards Europeana

Objective

At over nine million published titles, the 20th and early 21st centuries account for roughly 80% of all printed works published in the German-speaking countries. In order to safeguard access to this information for the future, it is crucial to start mass digitisation of the content as soon as possible. However, most 20th century works are subject to copyright, making it necessary to obtain licenses from the respective rights holders.

The aim of the ARROW project was therefore to help simplify the process of identifying copyright holders of out-of-print works through the Europe-wide networking of relevant data sources and the creation of automatic request possibilities. In addition, a register was created of works, the rights holders of which can no longer be identified or traced ("orphan works"). Models were also to be developed which provide integrated access to free and charged digital content. ARROW's close links to "Europeana" - the European library, archive and museum in digital form - are pivotal here.

Besides contributing to the technical work packages of the project, the German National Library also scrutinised the various legal issues and the processes involved in establishing the rights for each individual title on the basis of a selection of copyright-protected books. The archive of the Schönste deutschen Bücher competition organised by Stiftung Buchkunst was used as a test case for this investigation.

Neelie Kroes, Vice President of the European Commission and responsible for the Digital Agenda, emphasised in her speech held to mark the official end of the project the great potential of ARROW and pointed out that, in the future, ARROW could become the European portal for tracking down information on the copyright status of publications and the respective rights holders.

The project yielded a functioning prototype of the system. This is now to be expanded and optimised in the follow-on "ARROW plus" project.

Project partners

The German National Library and a number of other European national libraries, plus representatives of usage rights organisations and various European publishers' associations.

Project co-ordination

Italian Publishers Association (AIE)

Funding

European Commission, eContentplus Programme

Project duration

1 September 2008 - 28 February 2011

Project homepage

http://www.arrow-net.eu

Publications

  • Jaeger, Thomas: ARROW - ein neues EU-Projekt zur Klärung von Urheberrechten bei vergriffenen und verwaisten Werken. In: Dialog mit Bibliotheken 20, 2008/2, S. 35-38 urn:nbn:de:101-20090511312
  • Jaeger, Thomas; Kolbe, Ines: Das Projekt ARROW - Ein Resümee. In: Dialog mit Bibliotheken 23, 2011/2, S. 22-31 urn:nbn:de:101-2012030878

Last update: 10.04.2012

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

ARROW - Accessible Registries of Rights Information and Orphan Works towards Europeana

Ziel

Mit über neun Millionen publizierter Titel hat das 20. und beginnende 21. Jahrhundert einen Anteil von etwa 80% an allen im deutschen Sprachraum veröffentlichten Druckwerken. Um den Zugang zu den enthaltenen Informationen für die Zukunft zu sichern, ist der rasche Einstieg in eine massenhafte Digitalisierung nötig. Allerdings unterliegen die meisten Werke des 20. Jahrhunderts dem Schutz des Urheberrechts, was die vorherige Lizenzierung durch den oder die Rechteinhaber erforderlich macht.

Vor diesem Hintergrund war es das Ziel des Projekts ARROW, die Ermittlung von Urheberrechtsinhabern bei vergriffenen Werken durch die europaweite Vernetzung relevanter Datenquellen und eine automatisierte Abfragemöglichkeit deutlich zu erleichtern. Zugleich wurde ein Nachweisregister von Werken angelegt, deren Rechteinhaber nicht mehr zu identifizieren oder zu lokalisieren sind (so genannte "verwaiste Werke"). Darüber hinaus sollten Modelle für den integrierten Zugang zu kostenpflichtigem und kostenfreiem digitalen Content entwickelt werden. Eine große Rolle spielte dabei die enge Anbindung von ARROW an die "Europeana" , Europas Bibliothek, Archiv und Museum in digitaler Form.

Neben der Mitarbeit in den technischen Arbeitspaketen des Projekts wurden an der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek anhand eines ausgewählten Bestands an urheberrechtlich geschützten Büchern verschiedene juristische Fragestellungen und die erforderlichen Arbeitsabläufe der Rechteklärung Titel für Titel geprüft. Testfall für diese Untersuchungen war das Archiv der Schönsten deutschen Bücher aus dem Wettbewerb der Stiftung Buchkunst.

Neelie Kroes, Vize-Präsidentin der Europäischen Kommission und zuständig für die Digitale Agenda, betonte in ihrer Ansprache anlässlich des offiziellen Projektendes das hohe Potenzial von ARROW und wies darauf hin, dass ARROW in der Zukunft das europäische Portal werden könnte, auf dem Informationen zum urheberrechtlichen Status von Publikationen und zu beteiligten Rechteinhabern zu finden sind.

Mit dem Abschluss des Projekts steht nun ein funktionsfähiger Prototyp des Systems zur Verfügung, der in einem Folgeprojekt "ARROW plus" weiter ausgebaut und optimiert werden soll.

Projektpartner

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek und mehrere weitere europäische Nationalbibliotheken, außerdem Vertreter von Rechteverwertungsgesellschaften sowie verschiedene europäische Verlegerverbände

Projektkoordination

Associazione Italiana Editori (AIE)

Projektträger

Europäische Kommission, Förderprogramm eContentplus

Projektdauer

1. September 2008 - 28. Februar 2011

Projekthomepage

http://www.arrow-net.eu

Publikationen

  • Jaeger, Thomas: ARROW - ein neues EU-Projekt zur Klärung von Urheberrechten bei vergriffenen und verwaisten Werken. In: Dialog mit Bibliotheken 20, 2008/2, S. 35-38 urn:nbn:de:101-20090511312
  • Jaeger, Thomas; Kolbe, Ines: Das Projekt ARROW - Ein Resümee. In: Dialog mit Bibliotheken 23, 2011/2, S. 22-31 urn:nbn:de:101-2012030878

Letzte Änderung: 10.04.2012

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main