Navigation and service

KIM - Competence Center for Interoperable Metadata

Objective

KIM introduced international developments in metadata standards to the German-speaking metadata community and supported the generation of interoperable metadata profiles based on defined quality criteria. The KIM information platform features translations of metadata standards and information on training courses. KIM also offers self-study materials (e-Tutorials and the "Kleine Handbuch Metadaten"). The blog-based Technology Watch Report provides information on the latest developments in the field of metadata standards and interoperability.

The main elements of the projects included the development of a system for testing the quality and interoperability of metadata, collaboration on the creation of the GND ontology, testing of procedures and tools for the production of interoperable metadata in digital document editing processes, the creation of guidelines for the interoperable design of metadata profiles and a best practice guide for representing knowledge organisation systems (KOS) in the semantic web.

At the national level, the establishment of the DINI-AG KIM saw the creation of an organisational form aimed at monitoring and processing the content and objectives of the KIM project for its duration and beyond.
Internationally, the project members have made significant contributions to the Linked Library Data Incubator Group of W3C and in boards and task groups of the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative.

Project partners

The project was headed by the Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen (SUB) and the Max Planck Digital Library.

Funding

DFG

Project duration

2007 - 2012

Project homepage

http://www.kim-forum.org (available only in German)

Last update: 14.11.2014

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

KIM - Kompetenzzentrum Interoperable Metadaten

Ziel

Durch KIM wurden internationale Entwicklungen bezüglich Metadatenstandards in die deutschsprachige Metadaten-Community transferiert sowie die Erarbeitung von interoperablen Metadatenprofilen unter Zuhilfenahme definierter Qualitätskriterien unterstützt. Auf der KIM-Informationsplattform stehen unter anderem Übersetzungen von Metadatenstandards sowie Informationen zu Qualifizierungsangeboten zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus werden durch KIM Materialien zum Selbststudium (E-Tutorials und das "Kleine Handbuch Metadaten") angeboten. Der blog-basierte Technology-Watch-Report informiert über aktuelle Entwicklungen im Bereich Metadatenstandards und Interoperabilität.

Schwerpunkte im Projekt waren die Entwicklung eines Konzeptes zur Qualitäts- und Interoperabilitätsprüfung von Metadaten, die Mitwirkung bei der Erarbeitung der GND-Ontologie, Untersuchungen zu Verfahren und Werkzeugen zur Produktion interoperabler Metadaten in digitalen Dokumentenverarbeitungsprozessen, die Erarbeitung einer Richtlinie für die interoperable Gestaltung von Metadatenprofilen sowie eines Best Practice Guide zur Repräsentation von Wissensorganisationssystemen (KOS) im Semantic Web.

Auf nationaler Ebene wurde durch die Etablierung der DINI-AG KIM eine Organisationsform geschaffen, die die Anliegen und Ziele des KIM-Projektes über seine Laufzeit hinaus verfolgt und weiterbearbeitet.
International haben sich Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Projektes vor allem in der Linked Library Data Incubator Group des W3C und in Boards und Task Groups der Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (http://dublincore.org/) engagiert.

Projektpartner

Das Projekt wurde unter Federführung Niedersächsischen Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen (SUB) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek und der Max Planck Digital Library durchgeführt.

Projektträger

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Projektdauer

2007 - 2012

Projekthomepage

http://www.kim-forum.org

Letzte Änderung: 18.06.2014

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main