Navigation and service

ODE - Opportunities for Data Exchange

Objective

The collection of research data is a huge investment. Permanent access to such data, if quality controlled and in interoperable formats, will allow better use to be made of this investment because it allows other researchers to (re)use them.

The project ODE investigated emerging best practices in sharing, re-using, preserving and citing data, the drivers for these changes and barriers impeding progress. Stakeholder groups were consulted and engaged at the national and European levels, key actors in emerging e-Infrastructures with a mature data layer and, of course, the scientists who produce the data in the first instance.

ODE delivered to the European Commission and to key stakeholders in the emerging e-Infrastructure a better understanding of

  • Opportunities generated by data sharing, re-use and preservation
  • Unmet needs of the worldwide scientific community for access to, and re-use of, scientific data
  • Necessary alignment of national policies and strategies on scientific data produced by publicly-funded project

Results

In the project the following reports were published and distributed at conferences:

  • The "Ten Tales of Drivers & Barriers in Data Sharing" brochure describes the exchange of research data from the point of view of ten individuals in the fields of science, infrastructure facilities and research support.
  • The "Integration of Data and Publications" report is devoted to the field of scientific communication and shows, on the basis of the latest developments, how e.g. libraries and publishers handle research data and ensure their accessibility.
  • The final report summarises all the findings obtained in the project on drivers, barriers, possibilities and opportunities in the exchange of research data and provides recommendations for the five key stakeholder groups (researchers/research institutes, research sponsors/financial backers, libraries, publishers, data centres).

Project partners

Funding

European Commission, Seventh Framework Programme

Project duration

1 November 2010 - 30 November 2012

Project homepage

http://www.alliancepermanentaccess.org/index.php/current-projects/ode

Last update: 20.02.2013

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

ODE - Opportunities for Data Exchange

Ziel

Die Erzeugung und Aufbereitung von Forschungsdaten ist aufwändig und teuer. Dauerhafter Zugang zu solchen Daten - qualitätsgeprüft und in interoperablen Formaten - erlaubt anderen Forschern die Nachnutzung vorhandener Ergebnisse.

Das Projekt ODE untersuchte Verfahren, um Daten zu teilen, nachzunutzen, zu archivieren und zu zitieren. Es wurden Entscheidungsträger und Förderorganisationen auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene konsultiert, im Aufbau begriffene Forschungsdaten-Infrastrukturen untersucht und Forscher, die Daten produzieren, befragt.

Das Projekt ODE sollte der Europäischen Kommission, den Projektpartnern sowie allen Interessierten ein besseres Verständnis vermitteln hinsichtlich

  • Möglichkeiten und Chancen von Datenaustausch und -archivierung
  • offenen Handlungsfeldern in der Wissenschaft in Bezug auf Zugang zu und Nachnutzung von Daten
  • notwendigen Anpassungen nationaler Regeln und Strategien zum Umgang mit wissenschaftlichen Daten, die in öffentlich geförderten Projekten erzeugt werden.

Ergebnisse

Im Projekt wurden unter anderem folgende Berichte publiziert und auf Konferenzen verbreitet:

  • Die Broschüre "Ten Tales of Drivers & Barriers in Data Sharing" beschreibt zehn Blickwinkel von Personen aus Wissenschaft, Infrastruktur und Forschungsförderung auf den Austausch von Forschungsdaten.
  • Der Report "Integration of Data and Publications" widmet sich dem Feld der Wissenschaftskommunikation und zeigt anhand aktuellerer Entwicklungen, wie z.B. Bibliotheken und Verlage mit Forschungsdaten umgehen und deren Zugänglichkeit fördern.
  • Der Abschlussbericht trägt alle im Projekt gewonnen Erkenntnisse zu Treibern und Barrieren (“drivers and barriers”), Möglichkeiten und Chancen beim Austausch von Forschungsdaten sowie Empfehlungen für die fünf wichtigen Stakeholdergruppen zusammen (Forscher/Forschungseinrichtungen, Forschungsförderer/Geldgeber, Bibliotheken, Verlage, Datenzentren).

Projektpartner

Projektträger

Europäische Kommission, Siebtes Europäisches Forschungsrahmenprogramm

Projektdauer

1. November 2010 - 30. November 2012

Projekthomepage

http://www.alliancepermanentaccess.org/index.php/current-projects/ode

Letzte Änderung: 08.02.2013

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main