Navigation and service

PersID

Objective

From October 2009 to March 2011 the German National Library was involved in a project aimed at standardising and integrating persistent identifier (PI) solutions in Europe. The objective of the "PersID" project was to help set up a European infrastructure for persistent identifiers. The initial emphasis was on national URN-NBN initiatives (future integration of other standards is also planned) and the development of a global resolver service - a network of existing resolvers which can substitute for each other. The intention here is to provide ongoing support for the use of persistent identifiers in accessing online publications (and other digital content) - and also to reinforce the perception of persistent identifiers as a long-term solution. A wide range of competing solutions currently exists among those European cultural and research organisations with their own persistent identifier systems. National solutions are not generally interoperable, the criteria and guidelines for issuing persistent identifiers are not sufficiently transparent and the business models are extremely disparate.

First of all an assessment was made of the institutions and countries involved. This yielded information on the persistent identifier systems currently in use and provided the basis for formulating the requirements which a USN metaresolver service should meet. Examples of a business model and a cost model for a URN service were created on the basis of these results. At the conclusion of the project, a functioning prototype of an open source metaresolver was made available for use. This is now to be expanded and further optimised.

The project partners intend to continue with the existing partnership.

Project partners

The following countries and institutions were involved in the project:

Project co-ordination

SURF was responsible for project management.

Funding

Funding was provided by Knowledge Exchange (KE) - the alliance of European research support institutions including DFG (D), SURF (NL), DANS (NL) and DEFF (DK), but mostly by the institutions themselves.

Project duration

October 2009 - March 2011

Project homepage

http://www.persid.org

Last update: 06.12.2011

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

PersID

Ziel

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek hat sich von Oktober 2009 bis März 2011 an einem Projekt zur Vereinheitlichung und Vernetzung der "Persistent Identifier (PI)"-Lösungen in Europa beteiligt. Ziel des Projekts mit dem Namen "PersID" war es, den Aufbau einer gesamteuropäischen Infrastruktur für Persistent Identifier anzustoßen. Dabei wurde zunächst auf nationalen URN-NBN Initiativen aufgesetzt (eine spätere Einbettung auch anderer Standards wird angestrebt) und ein globaler Resolver-Service entwickelt - ein Netzwerk der vorhandenen Resolver, die sich wechselseitig vertreten können. Die Anwendung von Persistent Identifiern für den Zugriff auf Netzpublikationen (und andere digitale Inhalte) soll damit nachhaltig gefördert werden - und es soll das Vertrauen gestärkt werden, dass Persistent Identifier dauerhaft nutzbar sind. Derzeit existiert bei den Kultur- und Forschungseinrichtungen in Europa - wenn überhaupt - eine große Bandbreite an verschiedenen Persistent Identifier-Lösungen. Nationale Lösungen sind in der Regel nicht interoperabel, Kriterien und Richtlinien zur Vergabe von Persistent Identifiern nicht hinreichend transparent und die Geschäftsmodelle sehr unterschiedlich.

Zunächst wurde eine Bestandsaufnahme in den teilnehmenden Institutionen und Ländern gemacht, die Aufschluss über angewandte Persistent Identifier Systeme gab und die Grundlage für die Formulierungen von Anforderungen bildete, die ein URN-Metaresolver-Service erfüllen sollte. Aus diesen Ergebnissen wurden beispielhaft ein Geschäftsmodell und ein Kostenmodell für einen URN-Service abgeleitet. Ein funktionsfähiger Prototyp eines Meta-Resolver steht mit dem Abschluss des Projekts als Open Source zur Nachnutzung zur Verfügung und soll weiter ausgebaut und optimiert werden.

Die Projektpartner beabsichtigen, die begonnene Kooperation fortzuführen.

Projektpartner

Folgende Länder und Institutionen waren am Projekt beteiligt

Projektkoordination

Die Projektleitung lag bei SURF.

Projektträger

Die Finanzierung erfolgte durch Knowledge Exchange (KE), dem Zusammenschluss der europäischen Forschungsförderinstitutionen DFG (D), SURF (NL), DANS (NL) und DEFF (DK), überwiegend aber durch die beteiligten Institutionen selbst.

Projektdauer

Oktober 2009 - März 2011

Projekthomepage

http://www.persid.org

Letzte Änderung: 21.02.2012

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main