Navigation and service

The German National Library in brief

The German National Library is entrusted with the task of collecting, permanently archiving, bibliographically classifying and making available to the general public all German and German-language publications from 1913, foreign publications about Germany, translations of German works, and the works of German-speaking emigrants published abroad between 1933 and 1945. The German National Library maintains co-operative relations on the national and international level. It is, for instance, the leading partner in developing and maintaining rules and standards in Germany and plays a significant role in the development of international standards.

It is a federal institution with legal capacity under public law. The annual funds provided from the budget of the Minister of State for Culture and the Media currently amount to roughly EUR 46 million.

The German National Library was preceded by several institutions: these included the Deutsche Bücherei, founded in Leipzig in 1912, and the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main, established in 1946. The German Music Archive (Deutsches Musikarchiv) was founded in Berlin and has been part of the German National Library since 1970; it has been based in Leipzig since December 2010. The archive is responsible for the processing and bibliographic indexing of sheet music and sound recordings. The reunification of Germany saw these facilities amalgamated into a single institution. In 2006 the legal brief of the library was expanded and it was given a new name: Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (German National Library).

Archiving and media use take place at both locations, the work of literature processing is shared between them. This system allows each location to offer a complete collection and provide a full range of services.

In addition, each location is allocated certain principal tasks. The historic Leipzig library houses the German Museum of Books and Writing (Deutsches Buch- und Schriftmuseum), the German Music Archive, the Sammlung Exil-Literatur 1933 - 1945 and the Anne-Frank-Shoah-Bibliothek.

The Frankfurt site of the German National Library is responsible for the development of information and communication technology, including development and management of the central database. It handles the production, marketing and distribution of national bibliographic services. Frankfurt is also home to the German Exile Archive 1933 - 1945 (Deutsches Exilarchiv).

At the end of 2012 the German National Library held a total of roughly 27.8 million media units.

Link to video "Das Gedächtnis der Nation"-100 Jahre Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

Last update: 20.8.2013

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek im Überblick

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek hat die Aufgabe, lückenlos alle deutschen und deutschsprachigen Publikationen ab 1913, im Ausland erscheinende Germanica und Übersetzungen deutschsprachiger Werke sowie die zwischen 1933 und 1945 erschienenen Werke deutschsprachiger Emigranten zu sammeln, dauerhaft zu archivieren, bibliografisch zu verzeichnen sowie der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Im nationalen und internationalen Rahmen pflegt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek kooperative Beziehungen. So ist sie unter anderem federführender Partner in der deutschen Regelwerks- und Normierungsarbeit sowie maßgeblich an der Entwicklung internationaler Standards beteiligt.

Sie ist eine rechtsfähige bundesunmittelbare Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts. Die jährlich aus dem Haushalt des Staatsministers für Kultur bereitgestellten Mittel betragen zurzeit rund 46 Millionen Euro.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek hat mehrere Vorgängereinrichtungen: 1912 wurde die Deutsche Bücherei mit Sitz in Leipzig gegründet, 1946 die Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main. Seit 1970 ist das in Berlin gegründete Deutsche Musikarchiv Teil der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek, seit Dezember 2010 ist es am Standort Leipzig angesiedelt. Es ist für die Bearbeitung und bibliografische Verzeichnung der Musikalien und Musiktonträger verantwortlich. Mit der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands wurden diese Einrichtungen zu einer Gesamtinstitution vereinigt, die 2006 einen erweiterten gesetzlichen Auftrag und einen neuen Namen erhielt: Deutsche Nationalbibliothek.

Archivierung und Benutzung erfolgen an beiden Standorten; die Literaturbearbeitung geschieht arbeitsteilig. Durch dieses Konzept werden an jedem Standort eine komplette Sammlung und ein optimaler Service angeboten.

Jedem Standort wurden darüber hinaus Schwerpunktfunktionen übertragen. Am traditionsreichen Standort Leipzig befinden sich das Deutsche Buch- und Schriftmuseum, das Deutsche Musikarchiv, die Sammlung Exil-Literatur 1933-1945 und die Anne-Frank-Shoah-Bibliothek.

Der Frankfurter Standort der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ist für die Entwicklung der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik zuständig; dazu gehören auch Aufbau und Führung der zentralen Datenbank. Sie übernimmt Produktion, Marketing und Vertrieb der nationalbibliografischen Dienstleistungen. Außerdem ist in Frankfurt das Deutsche Exilarchiv 1933-1945 angesiedelt.

Der Gesamtbestand der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek belief sich Anfang 2014 auf rund 28,7 Millionen Einheiten.

Zum Video "Das Gedächtnis der Nation"-100 Jahre Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

Letzte Änderung: 10.4.2014

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main