Navigation and service

DDC Deutsch under Creative Commons license

The part of Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) shown in WebDewey Search is freely available under Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-ND. The German National Library and OCLC have jointly agreed to test the innovative use of DDC data on the basis of the German translation. The free availability of the data in WebDewey Search is part of a wider agreement which allows the German National Library to make electronic versions of the translated DDC available to a significantly wider circle of users than was previously possible.

What does this mean in concrete terms? The German version of the DDC in WebDewey Search may now be used and forwarded free of charge for non-commercial purposes on condition that OCLC is cited as the rights owner and that the data content is not processed or changed. This makes it possible for the first time e.g. to display DDC numbera and captions jointly without limitation - even in an organisation's own (Web) applications.

Other language versions of the DDC are available as SKOS data under Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-ND under dewey.info. The DDC Summaries are currently published there in ten languages (including English) based on linked data principles. There are also plans to make table 2 (the geographical tablenumbers) of the 22nd edition of the English version available.

If you have any questions please contact

Last update: 05.01.2017

This Page

Logo DDC-Deutsch

Navigation und Service

DDC Deutsch unter Creative-Commons-Lizenz

Der in WebDewey Search dargestellte Teil der Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation (DDC) ist unter Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-ND frei verfügbar. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek und OCLC haben sich gemeinsam darauf verständigt, die innovative Nutzung von DDC-Daten anhand der deutschen Übersetzung zu testen. Die freie Verfügbarkeit der Daten in WebDewey Search ist dabei Teil einer umfassenderen Vereinbarung, die es der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek ermöglicht, elektronische Versionen der übersetzten DDC deutlich über das bisher hinausgehende Maß einem breiten Anwenderkreis verfügbar zu machen.

Was heißt das konkret? Die deutsche Fassung der DDC in WebDewey Search kann für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke frei genutzt und weitergegeben werden unter der Voraussetzung, dass OCLC als Rechteinhaber genannt und die Daten nicht inhaltlich bearbeitet oder verändert werden. Damit wird es zum Beispiel erstmals möglich, uneingeschränkt Notationen und Klassenbenennungen gemeinsam – auch in eigenen (Web-)Anwendungen – anzuzeigen.

Unter dewey.info sind bereits andere Sprachversionen der DDC als SKOS-Daten unter Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-ND verfügbar. Zurzeit sind dort nach Linked-Data-Prinzipien die DDC-Übersichten in zehn Sprachen (unter anderem auch Englisch) publiziert. Darüber hinaus ist geplant, in naher Zukunft Hilfstafel 2 (die geografische Hilfstafel) der englischsprachigen Ausgabe 22 abrufbar zu machen.

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an .

Letzte Änderung: 07.12.2016

Diese Seite

Logo DDC-Deutsch